RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Coming of Age


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Incident on the Bridge

By: Laura McNeal

From National Book Award nominee Laura McNeal comes a gripping, tautly-told novel that is at once hopeful and harrowing. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Bone Gap.   When Thisbe Locke is last...

The Land of 10,000 Madonnas

By: Kate Hattemer

Five teens backpack through Europe to fulfill the mysterious dying wish of their friend in this heartwarming novel from the author of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy.   Jesse lives with his...

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

By: Laura Shovan

Laura Shovan’s engaging, big-hearted debut is a time capsule of one class’s poems during a transformative school year. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up...


The Last Monster

By: Ginger Garrett
illustrated by: Dinara Mirtalipova

A story steeped in magical realism about love, fear, and the thrill of discovering who we were born to be, The Last Monster is a story about making peace with our insecurities and defending those who must...

Twenty Questions for Gloria

By: Martyn Bedford

At 15, Gloria longs for adventure, something beyond her ordinary suburban life. When a mysterious new boy strolls into school, bent on breaking all the rules, Gloria is ready to fall under his spell.   Uman...

The Serpent King

By: Jeff Zentner

“The Serpent King is a book you won’t be able to resist or forget. The Southern boy in me savored every syllable and the reader in me fell in love with every page.” —John Corey...


Will Wilder: The Relic of Perilous Falls

By: Raymond Arroyo

Fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Peter Lerangis’s Seven Wonders series will embrace this first epic adventure in a rollicking new series by a New York Times bestselling...

The Book Thief (Anniversary Edition)

By: Markus Zusak

The 10th-anniversary edition of the #1 New York Times bestseller and modern classic beloved by millions of readers.   One of the most enduring stories of our time, The Book Thief is just a small story...

The Serpent King

By: Jeff Zentner

“The Serpent King is a book you won’t be able to resist or forget. The Southern boy in me savored every syllable and the reader in me fell in love with every page.” —John Corey...


Featured Resources:

Goodbye Stranger School Counselors’ Guide

By: Rebecca Stead
Guide prepare by: Laura Barbour

“Masterly. . . . Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times Book Review
A NYT Editors' Choice and NYT Notable Children's Books of 2015
...

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller


If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller
...

Download Resource

Paperboy Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Vince Vawter
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred
 
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt...

Download Resource

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

BOOK TALK
The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

We Are the Goldens Book Talk

By: Dana Reinhardt

BOOK TALK
Nell and Layla are sisters, the best of friends and each other’s support. Layla willingly paves the way for Nell when she enters high school.  As a freshman, Nell makes the soccer team...


Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

“A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage.”—ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling...

Download Resource

The Flame in the Mist Educator Guide

By: Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource