RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Random House
Return Home

Coming of Age

Browse By:

Featured Books


By: Marina Budhos

Marina Budhos’s extraordinary and timely novel examines what it’s like to grow up under surveillance, something many Americans experience and most Muslim Americans know.  Naeem is far...

My Near-Death Adventures: I Almost Died. Again.

By: Alison DeCamp

Fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and humorous historical fiction will embrace this follow-up to My Near-Death Adventures (99% True!), which Publishers Weekly called an “exuberant...

Big Boy Underpants

By: Fran Manushkin
illustrated by: Valeria Petrone

Big Boy Underpants offers a light, positive approach to motivate little boys to become toilet-trained. Snappy, rhyming text and bright, quirky illustrations sound the perfect note to encourage toddlers...

Project (Un)Popular Book #1

By: Kristen Tracy

Perfect for summer reading is this first book in a fun new series about two middle school bffs as they experience the highs and lows of friendship, boys, sixth grade politics, sister drama, and popularity. Middle...

The Safest Lies

By: Megan Miranda

Fans of We Were Liars, All the Missing Girls, and The Third Twin will be captivated by this psychological thriller about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past?  ...

This is the Part Where You Laugh

By: Peter Brown Hoffmeister

"So real it hurts."—David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Kids of AppetiteFans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Pena will be captivated by this summer-in-the-life of a teenage guy...

Hilo Book 2: Saving the Whole Wide World

By: Judd Winick

HILO’s BA-ACK—in this funny, New York Times Bestselling, full-color new middle-grade graphic novel series that Bone creator Jeff Smith calls “delightful” and Lincoln Peirce says...

The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island

By: Dana Alison Levy

Love the TV show Modern Family? Wait until you meet the family Fletcher! With two dads, four adopted brothers, two cats, and one pug, the Fletchers will have you laughing out loud!    Welcome...

Summer of Supernovas

By: Darcy Woods

“This sweet summer romance will have you flipping the pages all night long!” —Bustle   Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced...

Featured Resources:

Goodbye Stranger School Counselors’ Guide

By: Rebecca Stead
Guide prepare by: Laura Barbour

“Masterly. . . . Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times Book Review
2016 Honor Book in Fiction, Boston Globe Horn Book Award

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only...

Download Resource

All the Bright Places Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jennifer Niven
Guide Prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The beloved New York Times bestseller that Entertainment Weekly described as “sparkling” and says “get[s] under your skin.” You won’t soon forget this heart-wrenching, unflinching...

Download Resource

Paperboy Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Vince Vawter
Guide prepared by: Pat Scales, Children's Literature Consultant, Greenville, SC

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt...

Download Resource

We Were Liars Book Talk

By: E Lockhart

The three daughters of a very wealthy father constantly fight over the estate and the expensive possessions of their parents. However, their father forces them to come to his private island...

We Are the Goldens Book Talk

By: Dana Reinhardt

Nell and Layla are sisters, the best of friends and each other’s support. Layla willingly paves the way for Nell when she enters high school.  As a freshman, Nell makes the soccer team...

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Here and Now Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the...

Download Resource

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

And We Stay Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Jenny Hubbard

When high school senior Paul Wagoner walks into his school library with a stolen gun, he threatens his girlfriend Emily Beam, then takes his own life. In the wake of the tragedy, an angry and guilt-ridden...

Download Resource

The Flame in the Mist Educator Guide

By: Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource