RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Classics : By Author : s


Books

The Wanderings of Odysseus

By: Rosemary Sutcliff

For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden...

Heidi

By: Johanna Spyri
adapted by Gail Herman; illustrated by: Lydia Halverson

Five-year-old Heidi, an orphan, has been sent to live with her grandfather in the Swiss Alps. All of his neighbors fear him, but Heidi knows he is kind at heart, and the two learn to live happily together....

The Monster at the End of this Book (Sesame Street)

By: Jon Stone
illustrated by: Mike Smollin

Many adults name this book as their favorite Little Golden Book. Generations of kids have interacted with lovable, furry old Grover as he begs the reader not to turn the page—for fear of a monster...


Good Night, Little Bear

By: Patricia M. Scarry
Illustrated by: Richard Scarry

First a story, and then a kiss from Mother Bear, and Father Bear carries Little Bear to bed. And that's when the fun begins. Father Bear gets to Little Bear's room, but Little Bear is missing! Little readers...

The Poky Little Puppy

By: Janette Sebring Lowrey
illustrated by: Gustaf Tenngren

One of the original 12 Little Golden Books, The Poky Little Puppy has sold nearly 15 million copies since 1942, making it one of the most popular children’s books of all time. Now this curious little...

The Wizard of Oz

By: L. Frank Baum
illustrated by: Charles Santore

This special 100th-anniversary edition of L. Frank Baum's classic features eye-catching embossed gold foil on a centennial medallion as well as on the title. Santore's Wizard of Oz is widely acknowledged...


Theater Shoes

By: Noel Streatfeild

Three orphans are forced to enter a theater school by their grandmother, a famous actress. Unable to pay the tuition, they are given scholarships from the now-grown orphans from Ballet Shoes. Will they...

WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND

By: Elizabeth George Speare

Richard Scarry's Nicky Goes to the Doctor

By: Written and illustrated by Richard Scarry

It’s time for Nicky to visit the doctor, and thanks to Richard Scarry’s beloved Busytown characters, this checkup is an exciting adventure of discovery. From seeing how tall he is and having...