RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Black History : By Title : s


Books

Satchmo's Blues

By: by Alan Schroeder
illustrated by: Floyd Cooper

On hot summer nights in New Orleans, a boy named Louis Armstrong would peek under the big swinging doors of Economy Hall and listen to the jazz band. The best night was Friday, when Bunk Johnson would...

Small Steps

By: Louis Sachar

SMALL STEPS is a contemporary young adult novel from Louis Sachar, the New York Times bestselling author of the Newbery Award–winning smash hit phenomenon book and movie/DVD sensation Holes, and...

Small Steps

By: Louis Sachar

SMALL STEPS is a contemporary young adult novel from Louis Sachar, the New York Times bestselling author of the Newbery Award–winning smash hit phenomenon book and movie/DVD sensation Holes, and...


Something Beautiful

By: Sharon Dennis Wyeth
illustrated by: Chris K. Soentpiet

For readers of Newbery Winner Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña.Everyday a young girl is disheartened by the things in her neighborhood: the trash on the streets, the graffiti on the...

Something Beautiful

By: Sharon Dennis Wyeth

A little girl longs to see beyond the scary sights on the sidewalk and the angry scribbling in the halls of her building. When her teacher writes the word beautiful on the blackboard, the girl decides...

Songs of Faith

By: Angela Johnson

The year 1976 is just a few months away, and everyone in town is gearing up for the Bicentennial. But Doreen doesn’t feel much like celebrating. It just doesn’t seem right, so soon after the...


Spite Fences

By: Trudy Krisher

Thirteen-year-old Maggie Pugh has lived in Kinship, Georgia, all her life.In all that time almost nothing has changed. If you are poor, you live on thewest side of town. If you are rich, you live on the...

Stealing Freedom

By: Elisa Carbone

Inspired by a true story, the riveting novel of a young slave girl's harrowing escape to freedom on the Underground Railroad.The moment Ann Maria Weems was born, her freedom was stolen from her. Like her...

Stealing South

By: Katherine Ayres

"My name is Will Spencer. I come from a little town called Atwater, Ohio, and I bought this wagon to haul goods. But lately, I’ve been hauling more people than goods."Will Spencer’s...


Resources

The Sons of Liberty #2: Death and Taxes

By: Alexander and Joseph Lagos
illustrated by: Steve Walker and Oren Kramek

BOOK TALK
In this intense sequel, two young runaway slaves, Graham and Brody, live in Philadelphia where they work as apprentices in Benjamin Franklin’s print shop.  After murdering the abolitionist...

Stitchin’ and Pullin’

By: Patricia McKissack
Illustrated by: Cozbi A. Cabrera

Download Resource