RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Adventure


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Pirate Pig

By: Cornelia Funke
illustrated by: Kerstin Meyer

The beloved and bestselling author of Inkheart brings imagination, adventure, and humor to a swashbuckling full-color chapter book!   Who needs a treasure map when you have a pirate pig with a nose...

Jurassic World Special Edition Junior Novelization (Jurassic World)

By: David Lewman
illustrated by: Random House

Jurassic World is the long-awaited next installment of the groundbreaking Jurassic Park series. T. rex’s, velociraptors, triceratops—as well as some all-new dinosaurs—will roar across...

Raising Rufus

By: David Fulk

Readers of The Enormous Egg will dive right into this adventurous story about what happens when an average eleven-year-old boy becomes the parent of a giant T-rex!In the unremarkable town of Menominee...


Cakes in Space

By: Philip Reeve
illustrated by: Sarah McIntyre

Get ready for cupcakes! Sprinkles! Space! Robots! And big adventure with hilarious illustrations on almost every page.   Astra’s family is moving—to a whole new planet. And what does any...

Elephant Joe, Brave Firefighter! (Step into Reading Comic Reader)

By: David Wojtowycz

This Step 2 Step into Reading Comic Reader is full of dragons, firefighting, and birthday cake! In this action-packed early reader, Elephant Joe stars as a brave firefighter with his trusty sidekick, Zebra...

Elephant Joe, Brave Firefighter! (Step into Reading Comic Reader)

By: David Wojtowycz

This Step 2 Step into Reading Comic Reader is full of dragons, firefighting, and birthday cake! In this action-packed early reader, Elephant Joe stars as a brave firefighter with his trusty sidekick, Zebra...


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

By: Kelly Jones
illustrated by: Katie Kath

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.   Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her...

The Hunted

By: Matt de la Peña

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly review of The Living, A-   “Action is first and...

The Boys of Fire and Ash

By: Meaghan McIsaac

"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus  Fans of Rick Riordan...


Featured Resources:

The Indian in the Cupboard Series Educators’ Guide

By: Lynne Reid Banks

Full of magic and appealing characters, this classic novel takes readers on a remarkable adventure.

It's Omri's birthday, but all he gets from his best friend, Patrick, is a little plastic Indian...

Download Resource

The Phantom Tollbooth Educators’ Guide

By: Norton Juster
Guide prepared by: Bev Walnoha, a former teacher at Margaret White Elementary School in Blythe, California

Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and...

Download Resource

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

One Came Home Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Amy Timberlake

A Newbery Honor Book

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book

Winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Juvenile Novel

“An adventure, a mystery, and a love song to...

Download Resource

The Flame in the Mist Educator Guide

By: Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...


The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly, A-
 
“Action is first and foremost. ....

Download Resource

The Living Book Talk

By: Matt de la Pena

BOOK TALK
Shy feels so fortunate when he lands a summer job on a cruise ship, and meets Carmen, the girl he hopes will be the love of his life. The job soon becomes a nightmare when Shy witnesses...

Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

BOOK TALK
His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...