RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Adventure


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Boys of Fire and Ash

By: Meaghan McIsaac

"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus  Fans of Rick Riordan...

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

By: Kelly Jones
illustrated by: Katie Kath

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.   Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her...

Inside Out Junior Novelization (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney•Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind! Inside Out: The Junior Novelization retells the whole exciting story and features...


Rainbow of Emotions (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney•Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. Boys and girls ages 3 to 7 will love this activity book featuring 128 pages...

Inside Out Big Golden Book (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Making Memories (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney•Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. Boys and girls ages 3 to 7 will love this full-color book jam-packed with...


Joy's Greatest Joy/Simply Sadness (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: Felicity Glum
illustrated by: Lori Tyminski

Disney/Pixar’s Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: the world inside the human mind. Boys and girls ages 3 to 7 will love this full-color storybook with more...

Journey into the Mind (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney/Pixar Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. This Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader based on the film features collector cards...

Welcome to Headquarters (Disney/Pixar Inside Out)

By: RH Disney
illustrated by: RH Disney

Disney/Pixar Inside Out takes you to a place that everyone knows but no one has ever seen: inside the human mind. This Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader based on the film features a shiny foil cover...


Featured Resources:

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

One Came Home Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Amy Timberlake

A Newbery Honor Book

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book

Winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Juvenile Novel

“An adventure, a mystery, and a love song to...

Download Resource

The Flame in the Mist Educator Guide

By: Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly, A-
 
“Action is first and foremost. ....

Download Resource

The Living Book Talk

By: Matt de la Pena

BOOK TALK
Shy feels so fortunate when he lands a summer job on a cruise ship, and meets Carmen, the girl he hopes will be the love of his life. The job soon becomes a nightmare when Shy witnesses...


Will in Scarlet Book Talk

By: Matthew Cody

BOOK TALK
His father missing, their kingdom under attack, and no money to mention, Will Scarlet goes on the run in order to avoid being killed.  His unknowing venture into Sherwood Forest lands him...

Tandem Book Talk

By: Anna Jarzab

BOOK TALK
Sasha thought the existence of parallel worlds was a figment of her physicist grandfather’s imagination, but then she finds herself trapped in one! Deceived into believing she was coming...

Lara’s Gift Book Talk

By: Anniemarie O'Brien

BOOK TALK
Lara’s dream is to inherit her family’s tradition of breeding borzoi dogs worthy of the Tsar.  She understands the dogs and feels a special connection to them.  However, when her mother...