RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Adventure


Browse By:

Featured Books

The Race Around the World (Totally True Adventures)

By: Nancy Castaldo
illustrated by: Wesley Lowe

Does Nellie Bly have what it takes to race around the world? Travel to all corners of the globe in this action-packed Totally True Adventure.   When Nellie Bly read Around the World in Eighty Days...

The Halloween Tree

By: Ray Bradbury
illustrated by: Gris Grimly

In The Halloween Tree, master of fantasy Ray Bradbury takes readers on a riveting trip though space and time to discover the true origins of Halloween.Originally published in 1972, this striking new hardcover...

The Galaxy Pirates: Hunt for the Pyxis

By: Zoë Ferraris

Ordinary kids are introduced to an extraordinary galaxy full of pirates, monkeys, and other colorful creatures—both human and otherwise—in this first book of this “absolutely action-packed”...


While You Were Gone (Duplexity, Part II)

By: Amy K. Nichols

An artist without a cause meets a rebel without a clue.   Eevee is a promising young artist and the governor’s daughter in a city where censorship is everywhere and security is everything. When...

Climbing Everest (Totally True Adventures)

By: Gail Herman
illustrated by: Michele Amatrula

Could you climb the world’s highest mountain? Thrill seekers and young explorers will love this inspiring Totally True Adventure.   The peak of Mount Everest is the highest place on Earth—and...

The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-in Edition (Maze Runner, Book Two)

By: James Dashner

Read the second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015, and is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent....


The Girl at the Center of the World

By: Austin Aslan

In this fast-paced, exhilarating sequel to the acclaimed The Islands at the End of the World, Leilani and her family on the Big Island of Hawai’i face the challenge of survival in the world of the...

Pirate Treasure (Thomas & Friends)

By: The Rev W Awdry
illustrated by: Jim Durk

Buried treasure, a lost ship, and a wily modern-day pirate are the exciting elements of a new Thomas & Friends movie, "Sodor's Legend of the Lost Treasure." This movie-themed coloring book includes...

To the Limit! (Blaze and the Monster Machines)

By: Golden Books
illustrated by: Omar Hechtenkopf

Blaze and the Monster Machines is Nickelodeon's new animated action-adventure series. It stars Blaze, a problem-solving truck that can transform into multiple machines, and his best friend and driver,...


Featured Resources:

Voyagers Educators’ Guide (with STEM connections)

By: D.J. Machale
Guide Prepared by: Dr. Rose Brock, an assistant professor at Sam Houston State University

The action is on the page, on your device, and out of this world! This multiplatform series is part sci-fi, part eco-mystery, all action-adventure. And you don't have long to wait -- 6 books are coming...

Download Resource

The Indian in the Cupboard Series Educators’ Guide

By: Lynne Reid Banks

Full of magic and appealing characters, this classic novel takes readers on a remarkable adventure.

It's Omri's birthday, but all he gets from his best friend, Patrick, is a little plastic Indian...

Download Resource

The Phantom Tollbooth Educators’ Guide

By: Norton Juster
Guide prepared by: Bev Walnoha, a former teacher at Margaret White Elementary School in Blythe, California

Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and...

Download Resource

The Books of Beginning Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Called “A new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas brims with humor and action...

Download Resource

Fairy Tale Retellings Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a...

Download Resource

Nightbird Educators’ Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Alice Hoffman
Guide Prepared by: Pat Scales, Children’s Literature Consultant

“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical. . . . [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember.” —Lois...

Download Resource

Thrones and Bones Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author....

Download Resource

One Came Home Educator Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Amy Timberlake

A Newbery Honor Book

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book

Winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Juvenile Novel

“An adventure, a mystery, and a love song to...

Download Resource

The Flame in the Mist Educator Guide

By: Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource

Son of Fortune Book Talk

By: Victoria McKernan

BOOK TALK
When Aiden kills a man, he is forced to flee the lumber camp and find passage on a ship to San Francisco.  He proves to the ship captain he works hard and saves the captain’s brother’s...

The Living Reading Group Guide (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Matt De La Pena
Prepared by: Susan Geye, Director of Library Services, Everman ISD, Texas

“De la Peña has created a rare thing: a plot-driven YA with characters worthy of a John Green novel.”-Entertainment Weekly, A-
 
“Action is first and foremost. ....

Download Resource