RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Acceptance & Belonging


Browse By:

Featured Books

Optimists Die First

By: Susin Nielsen

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.  Beware:...

Bear Likes Jam

By: Ciara Gavin

On the heels of Bear Is Not Tired comes a delicious new story of a big bear with an even bigger sweet tooth—perfect for fans of Karma Wilson’s Bear Wants More.   When Bear discovers jam...

Scuffy the Tugboat

By: Kristen L. Depken
illustrated by: Sue DiCicco

Scuffy the Tugboat—star of one of the bestselling Little Golden Books of all time—is in his first Step into Reading book!   Fans of Scuffy the Tugboat will now be able to read about him...


The Secret Garden

By: Frances Gilbert
illustrated by: Brigette Barrager

A retelling of the beloved classic for the youngest readers, in honor of the 75th anniversary of Little Golden Books!   “A key!” cried Mary. “Is it the key to the secret garden?”...

Walt Disney's The Ugly Duckling (Disney Classic: The Ugly Duckling)

By: Annie North Bedford
illustrated by: The Walt Disney Studio

Based on Walt Disney’s The Ugly Duckling Silly Symphonies animated short from 1939, this classic Little Golden Book was originally published in 1952. Now the beloved book is back to delight a new...

Because of the Sun

By: Jenny Torres Sanchez

From the backyards of suburban Florida to the parched desert of New Mexico, Because of the Sun explores the complexity of family, the saving grace of friendship, and the healing that can begin when the...


Flying Lessons & Other Stories

By: Ellen Oh

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality...

Five Days of Famous

By: Alyson Noël

Is being famous the key to living the life of your (tween) dreams? Find out in this modern-day fairy tale from #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël! Seventh-grade girls like guys...

Teddy & Co.

By: Cynthia Voigt
illustrated by: Paola Zakimi

Fans of classic toy stories like Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo, and Toys Go Out by Emily Jenkins will love Teddy & Co. by Newbery Medalist...


Featured Resources:

We’re All Wonders Educators’ Guide

By: R.J. Palacio

The unforgettable bestseller Wonder has inspired a nationwide
movement to Choose Kind. Now parents and educators can
introduce the importance of choosing kind to younger readers
with this...

Download Resource

The Serpent King Discussion Guide

By: Guide Created by Gregory Lum

The son of a Pentecostal preacher faces his personal demons as he and his two outcast friends try to make it through their senior year of high school in rural Forrestville, Tennessee, without letting the...

Download Resource

Welcome Home Bear Activities (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Il Sung Na

Follow Bear as he visits animal habitats around the world—and comes to appreciate his own home—in this new offering from the creator of A Book of Sleep and A Book of Babies.
...

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything...

Download Resource

Another Day/Every Day Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie ins)

A New York Times Bestseller

A girl falls in love with someone who wakes up in a different body each morning in this enthralling and poignant follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Every...

Download Resource

Freckleface Strawberry Educator Guide

By: Julianne Moore
Illustrated by: LeUyen Pham

The latest adventures of the New York Times bestselling character Freckleface Strawberry from Academy Award–winning actress Julianne Moore!

Freckleface Strawberry can’t wait for...

Download Resource

Wonder Choose Kind Poster with activities

By: R.J. Palacio

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!

Over 5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen...

Download Resource

Families, Families, Families Family Tree Activity Kit

By: Suzanne Lang and Matt Lang

No matter your size, shape, or pedigree--if you love each other, you are a family!


Moms, dads, sisters, brothers — and even Great Aunt Sue — appear in dozens of combinations,...

Download Resource

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...


The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource

Cause Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Tonya Bolden

After the destruction of the Civil War, the United States faced the immense challenge of rebuilding a ravaged South and incorporating millions of freed slaves into the life of the nation. On April 11,...

Download Resource

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Discussion Guide

By: Karen Foxlee

“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly...

Download Resource