RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Acceptance & Belonging


Browse By:

Featured Books

Lily and Dunkin

By: Donna Gephart

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."--VOYAFor readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart...

Beachy and Me

By: Bob Staake

Bob Staake’s tale of a whale of a friendship!   Something big had come ashore. It seemed to have a tail. Pixie now was staring at . . . a giant washed-up whale!   Pixie Picklespeare lives...

Beachy and Me

By: Bob Staake

Bob Staake’s tale of a whale of a friendship!   Something big had come ashore. It seemed to have a tail. Pixie now was staring at . . . a giant washed-up whale!   Pixie Picklespeare lives...


The Incident on the Bridge

By: Laura McNeal

From National Book Award nominee Laura McNeal comes a gripping, tautly-told novel that is at once hopeful and harrowing. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Bone Gap.   When Thisbe Locke is last...

My New Mom & Me

By: Renata Galindo

Here is a heartwarming and completely accessible story about adoption, diversity, and acceptance. Told from the point of view of a puppy who is adopted by a cat, this gentle and reassuring tale is perfect...

Rose and the Wish Thing

By: Caroline Magerl

Rose feels alone in a new town. Everything is different and strange. She wishes, she searches, but she’s not even sure what for. Then, from somewhere far away, someone—or something—begins...


The Smell of Other People's Houses

By: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin...

Peas and Carrots

By: Tanita S. Davis

A rich and memorable story from a Coretta Scott King honor award-winning author about a teenage foster girl looking for a place to call home.   Dess knows that nothing good lasts. Disappointment is...

Bella's New Baby

By: Sue Fliess
illustrated by: Violet Lemay

A Little Golden Book about a happy family milestone: a new baby!   When Bella hears she’s going to be a big sister, she pictures all the fun she’ll have with a sweet baby girl. But the...


Featured Resources:

Welcome Home Bear Activities (with CCSS tie-ins)

By: Il Sung Na

Follow Bear as he visits animal habitats around the world—and comes to appreciate his own home—in this new offering from the creator of A Book of Sleep and A Book of Babies.
...

Download Resource

Wonder: A Guide to Exploring Precepts in the Classroom

Over 3 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. 

The...

Download Resource

Everything, Everything Discussion Guide

By: Nicola Yoon
Guide prepared by: Laura Schick, a librarian at Jesuit High School in Portland, OR

The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller


If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Rules

By: R.J. Palacio

Over 3 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. 

The...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Incentive Jar Labels

By: R.J. Palacio

Over 3 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. 

The...

Download Resource

Wonder Certified Kind Classroom Challenge

By: R.J. Palacio

Over 3 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. 

The...

Download Resource

Another Day/Every Day Discussion Guide (with CCSS tie ins)

A New York Times Bestseller

A girl falls in love with someone who wakes up in a different body each morning in this enthralling and poignant follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Every...

Download Resource

Freckleface Strawberry Educator Guide

By: Julianne Moore
Illustrated by: LeUyen Pham

Download Resource

Wonder Choose Kind Poster with activities

By: R.J. Palacio

Over 3 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. 

The...

Download Resource

Families, Families, Families Family Tree Activity Kit

By: Suzanne Lang and Matt Lang

No matter your size, shape, or pedigree--if you love each other, you are a family!


Moms, dads, sisters, brothers — and even Great Aunt Sue — appear in dozens of combinations,...

Download Resource

Papberboy Book Talk

By: Vince Vawter

BOOK TALK
“Little Man,” as the family’s housekeeper calls him, is eleven-years-old the summer of 1959 when he takes his best friend’s paper route for the month of July.  Throwing papers isn’t...

The Winter Horses Educator Guide with CCSS tie-ins

By: Philip Kerr

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous...

Download Resource