RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

ALA/ALSC Notable Children’s Books

More Stories Julian Tells

By: Ann Cameron
illustrated by: Ann Strugnell

"Reflecting incidents true to children (making a bet with a friend, sending a message in a bottle, attempting to be brave), these stories are the sort that will make children ask for more."--School...

Frederick

By: Leo Lionni

While the other field mice work to gather grain and nuts for winter, Frederick sits on a sunny rock by himself. “I gather sun rays for the cold dark winter days,” he tells them. Another day...

Swimmy

By: Leo Lionni

Deep in the sea there lives a happy school of little fish. Their watery world is full of wonders, but there is also danger, and the little fish are afraid to come out of hiding . . . until Swimmy comes...


The Stories Julian Tells

By: Ann Cameron
illustrated by: Ann Strugnell

Julian is a quick fibber and a wishful thinker. And he is great at telling stories. He can make people—especially his younger brother, Huey—believe just about anything. Like the story about...

Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse

By: Leo Lionni

Everyone loves Willy the wind-up mouse, while Alexander the real mouse is chased away with brooms and mousetraps. Wouldn't it be wonderful to be loved and cuddled, thinks Alexander, and he wishes he could...

The Snowman

By: Raymond Briggs

Illus. in full color. A wordless story. The pictures have "the hazy softness of air in snow. A little boy rushes out into the wintry day to build a snowman, which comes alive in his dreams that night....


A New Coat for Anna

By: Harriet Ziefert

Illus. in full color. "A fresh and moving story of a mother's dedication to acquire a coat for her daughter in post-World War II hard times. Anna's mother decides to trade the few valuables she has...

Horton Hatches the Egg

By: Dr. Seuss

Meet Horton the elephant, one of the most commendable heroes in children’s books. “I meant what I said, and I said what I meant. . . . An elephant’s faithful, one hundred per cent!”...

McElligot's Pool

By: Dr. Seuss

Imagination runs wild in this Caldecott Honor-winning tale featuring Dr. Seuss's inimitable voice and hysterical illustrations. The first Seuss title to feature full-color art on every other page, this...


Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World

By: Jennifer Armstrong

The harrowing story of the ill-fated Endurance, now in paperback.In August 1914, Ernest Shackleton and 27 men sailed from England in an attempt to become the first team of explorers to cross Antarctica...

Hoot

By: Carl Hiaasen

Unfortunately, Roy’s first acquaintance in Florida is Dana Matherson, a well-known bully. Then again, if Dana hadn’t been sinking his thumbs into Roy’s temples and mashing his face against...

Flush

By: Carl Hiaasen

Bestselling novelist Carl Hiaasen is back with another hysterical mystery adventure for young readers, set in the Florida Keys. You know it's going to be a rough summer when you spend Father's Day visiting...


The City of Ember

By: Jeanne DuPrau

The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s...

The Amber Spyglass: His Dark Materials

By: Philip Pullman

“The most magnificent fantasy series since The Lord of the Rings.” —The Oregonian   Throughout the worlds, the forces of both heaven and hell are mustering to take part in Lord Asriel’s...

Dona Flor

By: Pat Mora
illustrated by: Raul Colon

Doña Flor is a giant woman who lives in a puebla with lots of families. She loves her neighbors–she lets the children use her flowers for trumpets, and the families use her leftover tortillas...


The Golden Compass: His Dark Materials

By: Philip Pullman

“The most magnificent fantasy series since The Lord of the Rings.” --The OregonianLyra is rushing to the cold, far North, where witch clans and armored bears rule. North, where the Gobblers...

The People Could Fly: The Picture Book

By: Virginia Hamilton
illustrated by: Leo and Diane Dillon

“THE PEOPLE COULD FLY,” the title story in Virginia Hamilton’s prize-winning American Black folktale collection, is a fantasy tale of the slaves who possessed the ancient magic words...

Wild About Books

By: Judy Sierra
illustrated by: Marc Brown

It started the summer of 2002, when the Springfield librarian, Molly McGrew, by mistake drove her bookmobile into the zoo.In this rollicking rhymed story, Molly introduces birds and beasts to this new...


The Penderwicks

By: Jeanne Birdsall

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect...

Traction Man Is Here!

By: Mini Grey

Traction Man—wearing combat boots, battle pants, and his warfare shirt—comes in a box, but very quickly finds the way into the imagination of his lucky boy owner. This superhero searches for...

Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

By: Jennifer L. Holm and Matt Holm

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!Meet...


Toys Go Out

By: Emily Jenkins
illustrated by: Paul Zelinsky

Here is the first book in the highly acclaimed Toys trilogy, which is followed by the companion books Toy Dance Party and Toys Come Home. These six linked stories from Emily Jenkins, and illustrated by...

Duck & Goose

By: Tad Hills

Here is the first book in the popular Duck & Goose line of picture books and board books. This New York Times Bestseller and ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book stars two unforgettable characters and...

The Lincolns: A Scrapbook Look at Abraham and Mary

By: Candace Fleming

The award-winning author of Ben Franklin’s Almanac and Our Eleanor has created an enthralling joint biography of our greatest president, Abraham Lincoln, and his complex wife—a scrapbook history...


Porch Lies

By: Patricia McKissack
illustrated by: Andre Carrilho

Side-splittingly funny, spine-chillingly spooky, this companion to a Newbery Honor–winning anthology The Dark Thirty is filled with bad characters who know exactly how to charm. From the author's...

Turtle in Paradise

By: Jennifer L. Holm

In Jennifer L. Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor winning middle grade historical fiction novel, life isn't like the movies. But then again, 11-year-old Turtle is no Shirley TempleShe's smart...

Penny from Heaven

By: Jennifer L. Holm

Jennifer Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor Winner is the story of a summer of adventures and secrets that will change everything, at a time in America’s history, just after...


Good Sports

By: Jack Prelutsky
illustrated by: Chris Raschka

Exhilarating, all-new, kid-friendly rhymes capture the range of emotions, from winning to losing to the sheer joy of participating, that children experience as they discover the games of their choice....

You Never Heard of Sandy Koufax?!

By: Jonah Winter
illustrated by: Andre Carrilho

In this striking picture book biography, an old-timer tells us what made Sandy Koufax such an amazing baseball player. We learn that the beginning of his career with the Brooklyn Dodgers was rocky, that...

The All-I'll-Ever-Want Christmas Doll

By: Patricia C. McKissack
illustrated by: Jerry Pinkney

Newbery Honor–winning author McKissack and Caldecott Medal–winning illustrator Pinkney have outdone themselves in this heart-warming story infused with humor and the true spirit of Christmas....


Abe Lincoln Crosses a Creek

By: Deborah Hopkinson
illustrated by: John Hendrix

This ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book and Booklist Editors' Choice is an ingenious historical fiction picture book about the 16th president of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. It’s a tale of...

Piano Starts Here

By: Robert Andrew Parker
illustrated by: Robert Andrew Parker

Regardless of whether they’ve heard of jazz or Art Tatum, young readers will appreciate how Parker uses simple, lyrical storytelling and colorful and energetic ink-and-wash illustrations to show...

The Tequila Worm

By: Viola Canales

Sofia comes from a family of storytellers. Here are her tales of growing up in the barrio, full of the magic and mystery of family traditions: making Easter cascarones, celebrating el Dia de los Muertos,...


The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P. T. Barnum

By: Candace Fleming
illustrated by: Ray Fenwick

Step right up! Meet the astounding . . . the amazing . . . P. T. Barnum! The award-winning author of The Lincolns: A Scrapbook Look at Abraham and Mary, Amelia Lost, and Our Eleanor brings us the larger-than-life...

Amelia Lost: The Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart

By: Candace Fleming

From the acclaimed author of The Great and Only Barnum—as well as The Lincolns, Our Eleanor, and Ben Franklin's Almanac—comes the thrilling story of America's most celebrated flyer, Amelia...

Oh, No!

By: Candace Fleming
illustrated by: Eric Rohmann

"This picture book reads like an instant classic.... Oh, yes!" raved Kirkus Reviews in a starred review.Young children will delight in repeating the refrain "OH, NO!" as one animal after another falls...


Never Forgotten

By: Patricia C. McKissack

A 2012 Coretta Scott King Author Honor BookThis gorgeous picture book by Newbery Honor winner Patricia C. McKissack and two-time Caldecott Medal-winning husband-and-wife team Leo and Diane Dillon is sure...

Mrs. Harkness and the Panda

By: Alicia Potter
illustrated by: Melissa Sweet

In 1934, Ruth Harkness had never seen a panda bear.  Not many people in the world had.But soon the young Mrs. Harkness would inherit an expedition from her explorer husband: the hunt for a panda. ...

Pale Male: Citizen Hawk of New York City

By: Janet Schulman
illustrated by: Meilo So

The birdwatchers of Central Park were buzzing–a young red-tailed hawk had been spotted, would he stay? The bird they dubbed Pale Male not only stayed, he became one of New York City’s most...


What's Up, Duck?

By: Tad Hills

Little siblings of Duck and Goose fans rejoice! The stars of the bestselling Duck & Goose and Duck, Duck, Goose return in this board book for preschoolers, this time, to introduce basic opposites....

Far Far Away

By: Tom McNeal

A National Book Award FinalistAn Edgar Award FinalistA California Book Award Gold Medal WinnerA dark, contemporary fairy tale in the tradition of Neil Gaiman. Jeremy Johnson Johnson hears voices. Or, specifically,...

Clever Jack Takes the Cake

By: Candace Fleming
illustrated by: G. Brian Karas

Take a bite out of this deliciously funny original fairy tale, which received four starred reviews and was named a Best Book of the Year by Booklist, School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, and the Bank...


My Father's Dragon

By: Ruth Stiles Gannett

When Elmer Elevator hears about the plight of an overworked and underappreciated baby flying dragon, he stows away on a ship and travels to Wild Island to rescue the dragon.This book has been selected...

Colibri

By: Ann Cameron

When Tzunún was little, her mother nicknamed her Colibrí, Spanish for “hummingbird.” At age four, Colibrí is kidnapped from her parents in Guatemala City and ever since she’s...