RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Juliet Marillier

Design Images Perth

“Why am I a writer? I write because I can’t not write. It’s frustrating, annoying, rewarding, and absorbing. Most of the time it makes me happy, occasionally it drives me crazy. It’s one of the most solitary and demanding occupations in the world. One of the nice aspects of the job is getting to talk to aspiring young writers. I tell them the best reason to do it is because your heart is in it–because you have stories to tell. Forget about being rich and famous!

“When I’m asked for tips on ‘how to,’ I say no amount of technique can make you a true storyteller. On the other hand, however gifted you are, you need technique to do the job well, so I suggest young writers read widely and acquire a strong foundation in the building blocks of language. You can’t break the rules effectively until you know how to use them.

“In my case, those building blocks came early. I grew up surrounded by books and music, with a strong emphasis on Celtic culture. My birthplace, Dunedin, New Zealand, was a kind of ‘little Edinburgh’ that had been settled by immigrants from Scotland. I read avidly from early childhood. From that developed my lifelong passion for mythology and folklore. The threads of these are strongly woven into my writing. I believe traditional stories provide insights into how to live our lives well and deal bravely with whatever fate throws in our path. They still strike a chord with us, even in this vastly different world. Despite constant change, we still face the same essentials of human experience: love and hate, loyalty and betrayal, the bonds of family and friendship, courage and fear, faith and disillusionment, hope and despair.

“I love to incorporate these high themes and heroic journeys into my work, and that may explain why I write fantasy, which lends itself to this kind of material. But the real heart of everything I write is human drama–the interactions between characters, their choices, their personal growth. That’s one reason the books are set, not in an imagined world, but in our world and in real history. Their magical elements are based on the folklore of the time and place. Most of my protagonists are young men and women dealing with the everyday challenges we recognize from our own lives. Wildwood Dancing, for all its fairytale trappings, is essentially a story of sisterly loyalty and the choices a teenage girl makes as she grows to maturity.”

Juliet Marillier lives in Western Australia. Her first novel was Daughter of the Forest, based on the fairytale The Six Swans. Since then she has written seven more historical fantasy novels for adult readers. Juliet’s books are published internationally and have won a number of awards. Wildwood Dancing is her first book for young adult readers. She is currently working on a sequel, Kybele’s Gift, set in Ottoman Turkey.


Author Bookshelf

Cybele's Secret

By: Juliet Marillier

FOR PAULA, ACCOMPANYING her merchant father on a trading voyage to Istanbul is a dream come true. They have come to this city of trade on a special mission to purchase a most rare artifact—a gift from the ancient goddess, Cybele,...

Wildwood Dancing

By: Juliet Marillier

High in the Transylvanian woods, at the castle Piscul Draculi, live five daughters and their doting father. It's an idyllic life for Jena, the second eldest, who spends her time exploring the mysterious forest with her constant...

Shadowfell

By: Juliet Marillier

Sixteen-year-old Neryn is alone in the land of Alban, where the oppressive king has ordered anyone with magical strengths captured and brought before him. Eager to hide her own canny skill--a uniquely powerful...


Raven Flight

By: Juliet Marillier

Neryn has finally found the rebel group at Shadowfell, and now her task is to seek out the elusive Guardians, vital to her training as a Caller. These four powerful beings have been increasingly at odds with human...

The Caller

By: Juliet Marillier

In the final book in this gripping, romantic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Shannon Hale, Neryn’s band of rebels reach their climactic confrontation with the king. The stunning...

Heir To Sevenwaters

By: Juliet Marillier

The chieftains of Sevenwaters have long been custodians of a vast and mysterious forest?and a new heir has been born. But the family?s joy turns to despair when the baby is taken, and something unnatural...


Heart'S Blood

By: Juliet Marillier

Seer Of Sevenwaters

By: Juliet Marillier

Prior to making her final pledge as a druid, the young seer Sibeal visits the island of Inis Eala, where the Sight leads her to Felix, a survivor of a Norse shipwreck who has no memory of his past. As...

Flame Of Sevenwaters

By: Juliet Marillier


Dreamer'S Pool

By: Juliet Marillier