RHCB | More Sites
More Sites
Kids
Teens
Teachers
Librarians
Magic Tree House
Junie B. Jones
Seussville
Random House
Return Home

Maxwell Eaton

I’m a ninth generation Vermonter and in that tradition spent my childhood exploring woods, damming streams, building tree houses, and pretending that I could understand what squirrels were saying. Looking back, I think my parents allowed my brother and me a reckless amount of freedom (“Where were you last week?”) and they were dangerously tolerant (“If the squirrel told you to flood the neighbors’ basement, then who are we to argue?”). This made me more self-sufficient and capable in a world that demands a proficiency in snow-fort making and raft construction.

But despite a childhood spent mostly lost in the woods, I managed to devote a good amount of time to writing and drawing. Horses were a popular subject for me, which is probably why Chuck, the slightly disgruntled equine, has managed to sneak into each of my books so far. Talking squirrels, and disgruntled horses? Where am I going with this? They ask you to write these things and give you no guidelines! No structure! Let’s try an interview format. I’ll ask the questions:

Maxwell: Maxwell, how do you come up with your stories?
Maxwell: Well, Maxwell, all of my stories come from a large amount of doodling. I like thinking of characters in a scene doing something funny. Like a groundhog telling Max and Pinky that he can’t find his keys.
Maxwell: That’s not funny.
Maxwell: It’s just an example. Once I draw a scene that I really like, I think of a story to go around it. Let’s say this groundhog has lost his keys, so maybe Max and Pinky help him look for them so that he can get to his doctor’s appointment on time.
Maxwell: I wouldn’t tell your editor about this one.
Maxwell: I’m just making it up for the interview.
Maxwell: Maybe you should prepare for these things a little better.
Maxwell: Anyway, my process is kind of backwards and the initial drawing rarely ends up in the final book, but it’s how I work.
Maxwell: Now, your next book is The Adventures of Max and Pinky: The Mystery.
Maxwell: Yes.
Maxwell: Sounds mysterious.
Maxwell: It is. You see Max and Pinky are trying to paint their barn red, but every night someone or something paints it a new crazy color.
Maxwell: Crazy color?
Maxwell: Crazy color.
Maxwell: You’re going to have to be more specific.
Maxwell: Would you believe me if I told you plaid?
Maxwell: No.
Maxwell: Well, it’s true. But Max and Pinky can’t take it anymore, so they set out to solve the case and find the mysterious painter!
Maxwell: Right. Next question. Is it true that you once got your arm stuck in a bike rack?
Maxwell: What?
Maxwell: And they had to get a janitor with a hack saw to cut you out?
Maxwell: Where are you getting this?
Maxwell: And you wet your pants because you thought the hacksaw was for your arm and not the metal bars?
Maxwell: Are you starting rumors? Nobody wants to hear about this.
Maxwell: But you cried right?
Maxwell: Do you have anymore questions?
Maxwell: So a few tears then. But moving on, what advice do you have for kids who would like to become authors and illustrators?
Maxwell: My best advice is to start now. Whatever you want to do, whether it’s writing, drawing, or helping out kids who have somehow lost their bathing suits while swimming at the public pool–
Maxwell: Hey!
Maxwell: –it’s best to start practicing and having fun with it right now!
Maxwell: Well, thanks for the interview, Maxwell. This has been fairly self-destructive.
Maxwell: That’s what the squirrels tell me.


Author Bookshelf

The Adventures of Max and Pinky: Best Buds

By: Maxwell Eaton

For Max and Pinky every Saturday is Adventure Day. Today is Saturday, but where is Pinky? Has he gotten lost or carried away by bunnies—or is he just off somewhere stuffing himself with marshmallows? Watch Max...

The Adventures of Max and Pinky: The Mystery

By: Maxwell Eaton

MAX AND PINKY have painted the barn a nice, classic shade of red. But the next morning—it’s pink! They paint it again, but the very next day it’s plaid! What is going on?!

Something weird...

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Evil Penguin Plan

By: Maxwell Eaton III

Meet Ace and Bub, the flying beaver brothers! Ace loves extreme sports and is always looking for a new adventure. Bub loves napping and, well, napping. But when penguins threaten to freeze Beaver Island...


Two Dumb Ducks

By: Maxwell Eaton

Steve and Carl are ducks. Steve likes cans. Carl likes socks. But Steve and Carl don't like being called dumb by seagulls. Steve and Carl don't get mad. Steve and Carl don't get angry. Steve and Carl get even,...

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Mud-Slinging Moles

By: Maxwell Eaton III

The Flying Beaver Brothers are back! All is not well on Beaver Island. Ace and Bub have noticed a number of things (trees, houses, evil penguins) sinking into the ground. They soon discover that Captain Jo Jo...

The Flying Beaver Brothers: Birds vs. Bunnies

By: Maxwell Eaton III

In their fourth adventure, the Flying Beaver Brothers set off in their sailboat to enjoy some well-deserved rest and relaxation at nearby the island. But the birds and bunnies who live on Little Beaver...


The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business

By: Maxwell Eaton III

The Flying Beaver Brothers are back, and this time they're hot on the trail of another eco-villain: Fish Stix  Environmental Manufacturing. When Fish Stix sets up shop, most of the islanders are thrilled....

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Hot Air Baboons

By: Maxwell Eaton III

In the fifth adventure of this popular young graphic-novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants and the Lunch Lady series, our bucktoothed heroes are up against a band of baboon bandits.
 
...

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Crazy Critter Race

By: Maxwell Eaton III

The race is on for Ace and Bub in their sixth adventure in this popular young graphic novel series, which Kirkus called “funny from the first panel!”

Ace and Bub are tangled up in an...