Random House Readers Circle
Right Curve
Sidebar topper
Divider
Divider
Divider
Divider

Posts Tagged ‘sweepstakes’

Giveaway Opportunity: A NANTUCKET CHRISTMAS by Nancy Thayer

Wednesday, December 11th, 2013

Thayer_Nantucket Christmas The holidays are right around the corner, so now is the perfect time of year to curl up with a favorite holiday book (or author)! This year, we are excited to read New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer’s A Nantucket Christmas. We have some copies to share, so enter below for your chance to win!

Holidays on this Massachusetts island are nothing short of magical, and the season’s wonderful traditions are much loved by Nicole Somerset, new to Nantucket and recently married to a handsome former attorney. Their home is already full of enticing scents of pine, baking spices, and homemade pie.

But the warm, festive mood is soon tempered by Nicole’s chilly stepdaughter, Kennedy, who arrives without a hint of holiday spirit. Determined to keep her stepmother at arm’s length—or, better yet, out of the picture altogether—Kennedy schemes to sabotage Nicole’s holiday preparations. Nicole, however, is not about to let anyone or anything tarnish her first Christmas with her new husband.

Nancy Thayer’s wonderful tale reminds us that this is the season of miracles. Before the gifts are unwrapped, surprise visitors appear, and holiday joy comes to all, both naughty and nice.

Sweepstakes Opportunity: Enter for a Chance to Win THE DINNER by Herman Koch

Wednesday, October 30th, 2013

Koch_The Dinner Certain appetites run in the family.

Since its publication last year, THE DINNER has become an internationally bestselling phenomenon. It’s the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives over the course of one meal—and it’s out now in paperback.

On a summer’s evening in Amsterdam, two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant for dinner. At first, the conversation is a gentle hum of small talk—the banality of work, the latest movies they’ve seen. But behind the empty words, terrible things need to be said, and with every forced smile and every new course, the knives are being sharpened. Each couple has a fifteen-year-old son. The two boys are united by their accountability for a single horrific act, one that has triggered a police investigation and shattered the comfortable, insulated worlds of their families. As the dinner reaches its culinary climax, the conversation finally touches on their children, and as civility and friendship disintegrate, each couple shows just how far they are prepared to go to protect those they love. Tautly written, incredibly gripping, and told by an unforgettable narrator, this novel reveals the dark side of genteel society and asks what each of us would do in the face of unimaginable tragedy.

The New York Times Book Review calls THE DINNER “a clever, dark confection,” and Gillian Flynn raves, “The Dinner begins with drinks and dark satire, and goes stealthily and hauntingly from there. It’s chilling, nasty, smart, shocking and unputdownable.”

Win a copy of Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s The Language of Flowers!

Thursday, February 23rd, 2012

LanguageFlowersComing to paperback April 3rd!

A mesmerizing, moving, and elegantly written debut novel, The Language of Flowers beautifully weaves past and present, creating a vivid portrait of an unforgettable woman whose gift for flowers helps her change the lives of others even as she struggles to overcome her own troubled past.

The Victorian language of flowers was used to convey romantic expressions: honeysuckle for devotion, asters for patience, and red roses for love. But for Victoria Jones, it’s been more useful in communicating grief, mistrust, and solitude. After a childhood spent in the foster-care system, she is unable to get close to anybody, and her only connection to the world is through flowers and their meanings.

Now eighteen and emancipated from the system, Victoria has nowhere to go and sleeps in a public park, where she plants a small garden of her own. Soon a local florist discovers her talents, and Victoria realizes she has a gift for helping others through the flowers she chooses for them. But a mysterious vendor at the flower market has her questioning what’s been missing in her life, and when she’s forced to confront a painful secret from her past, she must decide whether it’s worth risking everything for a second chance at happiness.

Win a copy of Ellen Feldman’s novel NEXT TO LOVE!

Wednesday, February 15th, 2012

Next to Love TPFor fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.

Set in a small town in Massachusetts, Next to Love follows three childhood friends, Babe, Millie, and Grace, whose lives are unmoored when their men are called to duty. And yet the changes that are thrust upon them move them in directions they never dreamed possible—while their husbands and boyfriends are enduring their own transformations. In the decades that follow, the three friends lose their innocence, struggle to raise their children, and find meaning and love in unexpected places. And as they change, so does America—from a country in which people know their place in the social hierarchy to a world in which feminism, the Civil Rights movement, and technological innovations present new possibilities—and uncertainties. And yet Babe, Millie, and Grace remain bonded by their past, even as their children grow up and away and a new society rises from the ashes of the war.

Beautifully crafted and unforgettable, Next to Love depicts the enduring power of love and friendship, and illuminates a transformational moment in American history.

Celebrate a new year of reading with us. Enter for a chance to win an iPad!

Friday, January 13th, 2012

RHRC-iPad-giveaway-banner-300x250

This giveaway is now closed. Thanks to the thousands of you who entered! We’ll announce the winner soon.

Good luck to all!
The iPad 2 that could be yours is black, 16 gigabytes, and Wi-Fi enabled, with iOS5 and iCloud. Does not include 3G or data plan from a carrier. Download books directly from iTunes and be reading in seconds!

Sweepstakes Starts: January 11, 2012 @ 12:00 pm (PST)
Sweepstakes Ends: January 23, 2012 @ 11:59 pm (PST)

Mystery lovers: Win a copy of A Study in Sherlock!

Monday, October 10th, 2011

Study in SherlockThis giveaway is now closed. Thanks to all who entered!

Read an excerpt here

Bestselling authors go Holmes in an irresistible new collection!

Neil Gaiman. Laura Lippman. Lee Child. These are just three of eighteen superstar authors who provide fascinating, thrilling, and utterly original perspectives on Sherlock Holmes in this one-of-a-kind book. These modern masters place the sleuth in suspenseful new situations, create characters who solve Holmesian mysteries, contemplate Holmes in his later years, fill gaps in the Sherlock Holmes Canon, and reveal their own personal obsessions with the Great Detective.

Featuring stories from:
Alan Bradley
Tony Broadbent
Jan Burke
Lionel Chetwynd
Lee Child
Colin Cotterill
Neil Gaiman
Laura Lippman
Gayle Lynds & John Sheldon
Phillip & Jerry Margolin
Margaret Maron
Thomas Perry
S. J. Rozan
Dana Stabenow
Charles Todd
Jacqueline Winspear

Win a paperback of The Tiger’s Wife!

Thursday, October 6th, 2011

*This giveaway is now closed. Thanks to the over 2,000 people who entered!*The Tiger's Wife TPobreht_tea

Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction

One of the year’s best novels is coming to paperback November 1st!

“[Obreht] has a talent for subtle plotting that eludes most writers twice her age, and her descriptive powers suggest a kind of channeled genius. . . . No novel [this year] has been more satisfying.”—The Wall Street Journal

“So rich with themes of love, legends and mortality that every novel that comes after it this year is in peril of falling short in comparison with its uncanny beauty.”—Time

Win a copy of The Descendants!

Tuesday, October 4th, 2011

The Descendants MTI*This giveaway is now closed. Thanks to all who entered!*

With George Clooney in the leading role and Alexander Payne (Sideways, About Schmidt) directing, The Descendants, scheduled for release on November 18th, is already being called one of the best films of the 2011. Here’s your chance to read the book before you watch it! We love this seriously wonderful novel here at Random House, and hope you will too.

Read an excerpt here.

“With beautiful and blunt prose, Hemmings explores the emotional terrain of grief, promising something far more fulfilling than paradise at its end.”San Francisco Chronicle

“A Pandora’s box–style tragicomedy . . . [Kaui Hart Hemmings’s] comic sense is finely honed in this refreshingly wry debut novel.”—The New York Times Book Review

Win a trip to the film premiere of THE DESCENDANTS!

Monday, October 3rd, 2011

The Descendants MTIRandom House Reader’s Circle has partnered with Fox Searchlight, United Airlines, Fairmont Hotels and Parade Magazine to offer you and a friend the exciting chance to attend the movie premiere of The Descendants (starring George Clooney) in Los Angeles, including free airfare and a $500 American Express gift card! Trust us—after you read this incredible, hilarious, and deeply moving debut novel by Kaui Hart Hemmings (originally published in 2006), you won’t want to miss the movie.

You can enter the sweepstakes by clicking here.

Read an excerpt of the novel here.

Buy the paperback / Buy the eBook

Watch the trailer:

The Beachcombers sweepstakes: Win a trip to Nantucket!

Friday, May 20th, 2011

Enter for a chance to win a trip to Nantucket!

Celebrate Nancy Thayer’s Beachcombers with a New England getaway this summer. You and a guest could win roundtrip airfare and two nights on beautiful Nantucket. Relax and explore the island’s unspoiled beaches and lighthouses on foot or by bicycle, and visit the antique shops and galleries along the cobblestone streets of Nantucket Town.

Beachcombers by Nancy Thayer

“A charming and fun summer read.”—The Plain Dealer

Enter by June 13, 2011 for travel between ?July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2012.
Click here for complete rules and conditions.*

Shoe
Bertelsmann Media Worldwide