Kids@RandomKids@Random
Kids@Random
.
. KIDS TEENS TEACHERS LIBRARIANS ABOUT US RANDOMHOUSE.COM .
. FAVORITES NEW RELEASES AUTHORS GAMES and CONTESTS .
.
.

63 books found that match your criteria:
CATEGORY: Juvenile Fiction - Family - Orphans & Foster Homes

SORT BY: on AUTHOR | off TITLE | off PUB DATE
Titles 1 - 25 shown

--
.


Come Fall
Written by A.C.E. Bauer
Hardcover

Lu Zimmer's best friend moved away last summer. Salman Page is the new kid in school. Blos Pease takes everything literally. Three kids who are on the fringe of the middle school social order find each other and warily begin to bond, but suddenly things start going wrong. Salman becomes the... Read More
 



Come Fall
Written by A.C.E. Bauer
eBook

Lu Zimmer's best friend moved away last summer. Salman Page is the new kid in school. Blos Pease takes everything literally. Three kids who are on the fringe of the middle school social order find each other and warily begin to bond, but suddenly things start going wrong. Salman becomes the... Read More
 



The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen
Written by Nicholas Christopher
Hardcover

This richly-detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher features an unforgettable hero: Nicolo Zen is all alone in 1700s Venice, save for his clarinet, which a mysterious magician had enchanted, allowing its first player to perform expertly. Soon Nicolo is a famous virtuoso, wealthy beyond his dreams, but he can't... Read More
 



The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen
Written by Nicholas Christopher
eBook

This richly-detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher features an unforgettable hero: Nicolo Zen is all alone in 1700s Venice, save for his clarinet, which a mysterious magician had magicked, allowing its first player to perform expertly. Soon Nicolo is a famous virtuoso, wealthy beyond his dreams. But he can't... Read More
 



The True Adventures of Nicolo Zen
Written by Nicholas Christopher
Hardcover Library Binding

This richly-detailed historical novel from master storyteller Nicholas Christopher features an unforgettable hero: Nicolo Zen is all alone in 1700s Venice, save for his clarinet, which a mysterious magician had magicked, allowing its first player to perform expertly. Soon Nicolo is a famous virtuoso, wealthy beyond his dreams. But he can't... Read More
 



Rodzina
Written by Karen Cushman
Trade Paperback

In 1881, 12-year-old Rodzina Clara Jadwiga Anastazya Brodski wishes she didn’t have to board the orphan train in Chicago. But she has no home, no family, and no choice. Rodzina doesn’t believe the orphans are on their way out West to be adopted by good families. She’s sure they will become... Read More
 



We Were Here
Written by Matt De La Peņa
Trade Paperback

When it happened, Miguel was sent to Juvi. The judge gave him a year in a group home—said he had to write in a journal so some counselor could try to figure out how he thinks. The judge had no idea that he actually did Miguel a favor. Ever since it... Read More
 



A Little Princess
Written by Cathy East Dubowski
Trade Paperback

Sara Crewe is a student at Miss Minchin’s fancy boarding school. She has the very best of everything. But when her rich father dies, she’s left without a penny. Now Sara lives in the school’s cold attic and works for crusts of bread. With some help from a secret friend and... Read More
 



A Little Princess
Written by Cathy East Dubowski
eBook

Sara Crewe is a student at Miss Minchin’s fancy boarding school. She has the very best of everything. But when her rich father dies, she’s left without a penny. Now Sara lives in the school’s cold attic and works for crusts of bread. With some help from a secret friend and... Read More
 



Jeremy Cabbage and the Living Museum of Human Oddballs and Quadruped Delights
Written by David Elliott
eBook

Jeremy Cabbage is an orphan stuck at Harpwitch’s Home for Mean Dogs, Ugly Cats, and Strey Children, where the dogs are treated better than the kids. And things aren’t much better on the outside: the city is ruled by the arrogant and foolish Baron Ignatius von Strompié, whose Wisdom Wagons ride... Read More
 



The League of Beastly Dreadfuls Book 1
Written by Holly Grant
eBook

A creepy Victorian house, secretive aunties, and a great escape combine in this debut that is part Mysterious Benedict Society, part Roald Dahl, and all quirky, smart, hilarious storytelling. Join the League. . . .
 
Anastasia is a completely average almost-eleven-year-old. That is, UNTIL her parents die in a tragic... Read More
 



The League of Beastly Dreadfuls Book 1
Written by Holly Grant
Hardcover Library Binding

A creepy Victorian house, secretive aunties, and a great escape combine in this debut that is part Mysterious Benedict Society, part Roald Dahl, and all quirky, smart, hilarious storytelling. Join the League. . . .
 
Anastasia is a completely average almost-eleven-year-old. That is, UNTIL her parents die in a tragic... Read More
 



The League of Beastly Dreadfuls Book 1
Written by Holly Grant
Hardcover

A creepy Victorian house, secretive aunties, and a great escape combine in this debut that is part Mysterious Benedict Society, part Roald Dahl, and all quirky, smart, hilarious storytelling. Join the League. . . .
 
Anastasia is a completely average almost-eleven-year-old. That is, UNTIL her parents die in a tragic... Read More
 



Shadow Horse
Written by Alison Hart
Paperback

Horses + mystery + rescuing abused animals = a triple crown of perpetually popular preteen genres!

Thirteen-year-old Jasmine is found guilty of assaulting Hugh Robicheaux, the owner of the horse farm where she works. But she's still determined to prove that Robicheaux killed Whirlwind, the mare she loved. Jas is sure that... Read More
 



Shadow Horse
Written by Alison Hart
eBook

Thirteen-year-old foster kid Jasmine Schuler is immediately drawn to the scrawny, broken-looking brown gelding huddled in the corner of an auction house stall. Feeling a kinship with the lonely animal, Jas convinces her new foster mom, who rescues and rehabilitates abused horses on her Virginia farm, to buy him. Slowly, the... Read More
 



Shifty
Written by Lynn E. Hazen
Trade Paperback

Fifteen-year-old Shifty knows all about moving around and next to nothing about where he came from. When he's assigned to a new foster home and family, he tries hard to keep cool and stay out of trouble. But it seems like the more he tries to do the right thing, the... Read More
 



Shifty
Written by Lynn E. Hazen
eBook

Fifteen-year-old Shifty knows all about moving around and next to nothing about where he came from. When he's assigned to a new foster home and family, he tries hard to keep cool and stay out of trouble. But it seems like the more he tries to do the right thing, the... Read More
 



Anne of Green Gables
Written by M.C. Helldorfer
Illustrated by Ellen Beier
Trade Paperback

When Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables, with its shower of apple blossoms and fields of buttercups, she hopes it will be the place she can call home. It's everything she's ever dreamed of! So when Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert tell her they were expecting a boy orphan -- someone strong... Read More
 



The Winter Horses
Written by Philip Kerr
Trade Paperback

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy...

Read More
 



The Winter Horses
Written by Philip Kerr
Hardcover

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy...

Read More
 



The Winter Horses
Written by Philip Kerr
eBook

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy...

Read More
 



The Winter Horses
Written by Philip Kerr
Hardcover Library Binding

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy...

Read More
 



True Colors
Written by Natalie Kinsey
Trade Paperback

Natalie Kinsey-Warnock's beautifully told, warm hearted novel tells the story of one girl's journey to find the mother she never had, set against the period backdrop of a small farming town in 1950s Vermont. For her entire life, 10-year-old Blue has never known her mother. On a cold, wintry day in... Read More
 



True Colors
Written by Natalie Kinsey
Hardcover

Natalie Kinsey-Warnock's beautifully told, warm hearted novel tells the story of one girl's journey to find the mother she never had, set against the period backdrop of a small farming town in 1950s Vermont. For her entire life, 10-year-old Blue has never known her mother. On a cold, wintry day in... Read More
 



True Colors
Written by Natalie Kinsey
eBook

Natalie Kinsey-Warnock's beautifully told, warm hearted novel tells the story of one girl's journey to find the mother she never had, set against the period backdrop of a small farming town in 1950s Vermont. For her entire life, 10-year-old Blue has never known her mother. On a cold, wintry day in... Read More
 

.
.

Next page>

.


.
.
.
  

Advanced Search

 
NEWS AT THE HOUSE

NEWSLETTER

Sign up for the Read & Play Newsletter for age-by-age recommendations, discounts, news about upcoming books, literacy activities and more!
Click here for more info...

NEW RELEASES


Hot off the press! Check out some of this month's reading highlights...
See New Releases

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT
Author Photo

Meet Jeff Stone, author of Phoenix

Jeff Stone lives in the Midwest with his wife and two children and practices the martial arts daily.

Read more

RANDOM HOUSE RECOMMENDS


Click here for age-appropriate recommendations on our bestselling pre-school, chapter, and middle-grade book series!

For a full list of book recommendations try Search by Theme!

FAVORITES
Seussville


From Dr. Seuss to Dora the Explorer, Random House has books featuring your favorite characters!

.
.
.
. .
.