Kids@RandomKids@Random
Kids@Random
.
. KIDS TEENS TEACHERS LIBRARIANS ABOUT US RANDOMHOUSE.COM .
. FAVORITES NEW RELEASES AUTHORS GAMES and CONTESTS .
.
. ABOUT THIS BOOK .
.
  

Advanced Search

 
NEWS AT THE HOUSE

NEWSLETTER

Sign up for the Read & Play Newsletter for age-by-age recommendations, discounts, news about upcoming books, literacy activities and more!
Click here for more info...

NEW RELEASES


Hot off the press! Check out some of this month's reading highlights...
See New Releases

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT
Author Photo

Meet Jeff Stone, author of Phoenix

Jeff Stone lives in the Midwest with his wife and two children and practices the martial arts daily.

Read more

RANDOM HOUSE RECOMMENDS


Click here for age-appropriate recommendations on our bestselling pre-school, chapter, and middle-grade book series!

For a full list of book recommendations try Search by Theme!

FAVORITES
Seussville


From Dr. Seuss to Dora the Explorer, Random House has books featuring your favorite characters!

.
.
ABOUT THIS BOOK
QUOTES
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Buy this book online
Buy this book from a local store
Ordering information
Search Again
.
The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1)

Written by John FeinsteinAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by John Feinstein


· Knopf Books for Young Readers
· Hardcover Library Binding · Ages 10 and up
· September 9, 2014 · $19.99 · 978-0-385-75347-0 (0-385-75347-0)

.
The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1)
Enlarge View
Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse and search through your favorite titles
  • Add to Barnes and Noble Wish List
  • Add to Good Reads
  • Add to Librarything
  • Add to Shelfari

ABOUT THIS BOOK

Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.
 
Alex Myers is a triple-threat athlete—great at football, basketball, and baseball. But he’ll have to fight for a spot on the varsity team.
 
Alex is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very much filled by the coach’s son, Matt.
 
Alex has the better arm, but Matt has more experience—and the coach’s loyalty. Alex finally gets a chance to show what he can do when Matt is injured, and he helps win a key game to keep the Lions’ bid for the state championship alive. But just when his star is rising, Alex gets blindsided—the state has started drug testing, and Alex’s test comes back positive for steroids. Alex knows that’s not right. But he doesn’t know if it’s a mistake—or if someone wants to make sure he can’t play. . . .
 
John Feinstein has been praised as “the best writer of sports books in America today” (The Boston Globe), and this first installment in the Triple Threat series is his most thrilling and suspenseful novel yet. Fans of Mike Lupica, Tim Green, and Paul Volponi will want to check out The Walk-On.

QUOTES

Kirkus review, August 2014:
"A cliffhanger of a football novel bristling with social, personal, familial and ethical issues to complement the gridiron action.... All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more."

Publishers Weekly review, August 2014:

"[With] lots of play-by-play action, sensational plot developments, and an attractive, whip-smart, sports-crazy romantic interest . . . Feinstein skillfully captures the mania that surrounds high school football."

VOYA review, Octoer 2014:
"The action is lively and well paced, with increasing tension as the team advances to single-elimination play-off games."


From the Hardcover edition.

AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY

JOHN FEINSTEIN is the author of many bestselling books, including A Season on the Brink and A Good Walk Spoiled. His books for young readers offer a winning combination of sports, action, and intrigue, with Last Shot receiving the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best young adult mystery of the year. He lives in Potomac, Maryland, and Shelter Island, New York, with his family.

.

.
.
. .
.