.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
. .
Search the Site

. lesson plans

Random House Inc. is pleased to present a listing of forthcoming fall movies based on our books. From literary adaptations of classics to epic adventure stories, this diverse group of films, presented alongside the books that inspired them, will help both to enliven your classes and to address different learning styles.

August
September
October
November
December

August

book coverGrizzly Man
Based On: Among Grizzlies by Timothy Treadwell and Jewel Palovak
Directed By: Werner Herzog
Release Date: August 5, 2005
About the Book: Timothy Treadwell sought healing far from the trappings of civilization—among wild grizzlies on the remote Alaskan coast. Without gun, two-way radio, or experience living in the wild, armed only with the love and respect he felt for these majestic animals, Treadwell set up camp surrounded by one of nature's most terrifying and fascinating forces of nature.

For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book cover Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Based On: Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie
Directed By: Dai Sijie
Release Date: August 12, 2005
About the Book: This book tells the story of two hapless city boys exiled to a remote mountain village for re-education during China’s infamous Cultural Revolution. There the two friends meet the daughter of the local tailor and discover a hidden stash of Western classics in Chinese translation. As they flirt with the seamstress and secretly devour these banned works, the two friends find transit from their grim surroundings to worlds they never imagined.

For more information on the film, click here.

book cover

book cover The Great Raid
Based On: Ghost Soldiers by Hampton Sides
Directed By: John Dahl
Starring: Joseph Fiennes, Benjamin Bratt, and James Francor.
Release Date: August 12, 2005
About the Book: On January 28, 1945, 121 hand-selected U.S. troops slipped behind enemy lines in the Philippines. Their mission: March thirty rugged miles to rescue 513 POWs languishing in a hellish camp, among them the last survivors of the infamous Bataan Death March. Ghost Soldiers is the mesmerizing story of this remarkable mission. “Told with skill and intelligence, this is the story of a stirring and heroic rescue operation in World War II....”—David Halberstam

For more information on the film, click here.



September

book coverAn Unfinished Life
Based On: An Unifinished Life by Mark Spragg
Directed By: Lasse Halstrom
Starring: Jennifer Lopez and Robert Redford
Release Date: September 9, 2005
About the Book: With nowhere to go Jean Gilkyson and her ten-year-old daughter Griff return to Ishawooa, Wyoming, where Jean's estranged father-in-law, Einar, isn’t glad to see either of them. Griff falls in love with his sprawling ranch and quiet way of life, as she slowly gets to know his crippled old friend Mitch, and finally the grandfather she had lost for so many years. An emotionally charged story of hard-won friendship and reconciliation, An Unfinished Life is an extraordinary tale of love and forgiveness.


For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book coverCapote
About: Capote's writing of his masterpiece In Cold Blood
Starring: Phillip Seymour Hoffman
Release Date: September 2005
About the Book: Capote's true crime masterpiece: the riveting re-creation of the brutal slaying of the Clutter family of Holcomb, Kansas. As Capote reconstructs the murder and the investigation that led to the capture, trial, and execution of the killers, he generates both mesmerizing suspense and astonishing empathy.

For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book coverPride and Prejudice
Based On: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Starring: Keira Knightley, Matthew McFadyen, Dame Judi Dench, Donald Sutherland and Brenda Blethyn
Release Date: September 12, 2005
About the Book: Pride And Prejudice, the story of Mrs. Bennet's attempts to marry off her five daughters is one of the best-loved and most enduring classics in English literature.

For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book coverOliver Twist
Based On: Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
Directed By: Roman Polanski
Release Date: September 30, 2005
About the Book: Dickens's classic morality tale of a starving orphan. Filled with dark humor and an unforgettable cast of characters—Oliver Twist, Fagin, Nancy, Bill Sykes, and the Artful Dodger, to name a few—Dickens's second novel is a compelling social satire that has been highly regarded since it was first serialized in 1837-39.

For more information on the film, click here.


October

book coverNorth Country
Based On: Class Action by Clara Bingham and Laura Leady Gansler
Starring: Charlize Theron, Frances McDormand, Sissy Spacek, Woody Harrelson, Sean BeanPhillip Seymour Hoffman
Release Date: October 14, 2005
About the Book: In the tradition of A Civil Action and Erin Brockovitch, Class Action recounts the the first sexual harassment class action lawsuit in America, which permanently changed the legal landscape as well as the lives of the women who fought the battle. It is a story of intrigue and injustice as dramatic as fiction but all the more poignant because it is true.

For more information on the film, click here.


November

book coverBee Season
Based On: Bee Season by Myla Goldberg
Starring: Richard Gere, Juliette Binoche, Flora Cross, Max Minghella and Kate Bosworth
Release Date: November 11, 2005
About the Book: Eliza Naumann, a seemingly unremarkable nine-year-old, expects never to fit into her gifted family. But when Eliza sweeps her school and district spelling bees in quick succession, she rises from classroom obscurity to the blinding lights and outsized expectations of her family. Eliza's small pains and large joys are finely wrought and deeply felt in this startling and uncoventional coming-of-age story.

For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book coverSyriana
Based On: See No Evil by Robert Baer
Starring: George Clooney, Matt Damon, Amanda Peet
Release Date: November 23, 2005
About the Book: Top CIA operative Robert Baer paints a chilling picture of how terrorism works on the inside and provides startling evidence of how Washington politics sabotaged the CIA’s efforts to root out the world’s deadliest terrorists, allowing for the rise of Osama bin Laden and Al Qaeda and the continued entrenchment of Saddam Hussein in Iraq.

For more information on the film, click here.



December

book coverMemoirs of a Geisha
Based On: Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
Starring: Ziyi Zhang as Sayuri, Ken Watanabe, and Michelle Yeoh
Release Date: December 9, 2005
About the Book: Speaking to us with the wisdom of age and in a voice at once haunting and startlingly immediate, Nitta Sayuri tells the story of her life as a geisha. "A story with the social vibrancy and narrative sweep of a much-loved 19th century bildungsroman.... This is a high-wire act.... Rarely has a world so closed and foreign been evoked with such natural assurance." —The New Yorker

For more information on the film, click here.


book cover

book coverKing Kong
Based On: King Kong by Edgar Wallace and Merian C. Cooper
Starring: Naomi Watts, Jack Black, Adrien Brody
Release Date: December 14, 2005
About the Book: The giant prehistoric gorilla King Kong is one of the most recognized images in our culture. So great is the mighty Kong’s hold on the popular imagination that his story–a gripping yarn of man versus nature, coupled with a fantastical update of the Beauty and the Beast legend–has been thrice made into a motion picture and referenced endlessly in every medium, from books to prime-time sitcoms.

For more information on the film, click here.




.
.
.
.
.
.