.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
. .
Search the Site


.



Plunge the ocean depths in search of lost warships; join a secret society of World War II; solve mysteries with quirky detective Precious Ramotswe; confront a deadly flu epidemic in a fictionalized town. . . .

Summer is a time for escape, and what better way to access other worlds than through books. With this in mind, Random House is delighted to share with you the following student summer reading list.


To order examination copies of any of these titles, please follow the instuctions on our
Examination Copy page
.


CATEGORIES:
Click on the links below to view books in that category.

Fiction

Memoirs, Biography, and Other Nonfiction

Graphic Novels

Fiction
Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus
by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

“Prose as lush as the Nigerian landscape that it powerfully evokes. . . . Adichie’s understanding of a young girl’s heart is so acute that her story ultimately rises above its setting and makes her little part of Nigeria seem as close and vivid as Eudora Welty’s Mississippi.” —The Boston Globe

READING LEVEL: 8th Grade



Peace

Peace
by Richard Bausch

“Richard Bausch’s Peace, set at the end of the Second World War in Italy, is a small masterpiece with the same emotional force and moral complexity as Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and Tolstoy's Hadji Murad.” —Colm Tóibín

READING LEVEL: 5th Grade


The Rope Walk

The Rope Walk
by Carrie Brown

A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age

In The Rope Walk, Carrie Brown crafts a luminous story of a young girl’s coming of age during a crucial summer in New England.

“Beautifully written . . . . Captures the dignity and grace of a young woman coming into knowledge of herself and the world.” —Chicago Tribune

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade


The Guardians

The Guardians
by Ana Castillo

“A nuanced, vibrant look at the American experience through Mexican-American eyes.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Faulknerian . . . The rhythms of The Guardians are a pleasure to savor.” —San Francisco Chronicle

READING LEVEL: 10th Grade


The Power of One

The Power of One
by Bryce Courtenay

“Unabashedly uplifting . . . asserts forcefully what all of us would like to believe: that the individual, armed with the spirit of independence—‘the power of one’—can prevail.” —Cleveland Plain Dealer

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade



The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman

The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman
by Ernest J. Gaines

“Stunning. I know of no black novel about the South that exudes quite the same refreshing mix of wit and wrath, imagination and indignation, misery and poetry.” —Life

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade



The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
by Mark Haddon

Narrated by a fifteen-year-old autistic savant obsessed with Sherlock Holmes, this dazzling novel weaves together an old-fashioned mystery, a contemporary coming-of-age story, and a fascinating excursion into a mind incapable of processing emotions.

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade


Unaccustomed Earth

Unaccustomed Earth
Stories
by Jhumpa Lahiri

“Lahiri writes insightfully about childhood, while the romantic infatuations and obstacles to true love will captivate teens.”
—Donna Seaman, Booklist (starred)

READING LEVEL: 10th Grade


The Last Town on Earth

The Last Town on Earth
by Thomas Mullen

Set against the backdrop of one of the most virulent epidemics that America ever experienced—the 1918 flu epidemic—Thomas Mullen’s powerful, sweeping first novel is a tale of morality in a time of upheaval.

READING LEVEL: 9th Grade


When the Emperor Was Divine

When the Emperor Was Divine
by Julie Otsuka

Julie Otsuka’s commanding debut novel paints an unforgettable portrait of the Japanese internment camps. With crystalline intensity and precision, Otsuka uses a single family to evoke the deracination—both physical and emotional—of a generation of Japanese Americans.

READING LEVEL: 5th Grade



The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

January 1946: writer Juliet Ashton receives a letter from a stranger, a founding member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. And so begins a remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency
by Alexander McCall Smith

Now an HBO Series

This first novel in Alexander McCall Smith’s widely acclaimed series tells the story of the delightfully cunning and enormously engaging Precious Ramotswe, who is drawn to her profession to “help people with problems in their lives.”

READING LEVEL: 6th Grade


The Good Thief

The Good Thief
by Hannah Tinti

WINNER 2009 - Alex Award

“Every once in a while—if you are very lucky—you come upon a novel so marvelous and enchanting and rare that you wish everyone in the world would read it, as well. The Good Thief is just such a book—a beautifully composed work of magic.”
—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

READING LEVEL: 7th Grade

Back to top

Memoirs, Biography and Other Nonfiction

My Lobotomy

My Lobotomy
by Howard Dully and Charles Fleming

“Dully’s tale is a heartbreakingly sad story of a life seriously, tragically interrupted. All Howard Dully wanted was to be normal. His entire life has been a search for normality. He did what he had to do to survive. This book is his legacy, and it is a powerful one.” —San Francisco Chronicle

READING LEVEL: 7th Grade


Into the Wild

Into the Wild
by Jon Krakauer

Jon Krakauer tells the haunting true story of Chris McCandless, who after graduating from college in 1991, walked deep into the wilderness of Alaska on a fatal odyssey.

READING LEVEL: 9th Grade

Shadow Divers

Shadow Divers
The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

by Robert Kurson

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery—and make history themselves.

READING LEVEL: 9th Grade


Unbowed

Unbowed
by Wangari Maathai

In Unbowed, Nobel Prize winner Wangari Maathai recounts her extraordinary journey from her childhood in rural Kenya to the world stage. When Maathai founded the Green Belt Movement in 1977, she began a vital poor people’s environmental movement, focused on the empowerment of women, that soon spread across Africa.

READING LEVEL: 10th Grade


The Good Good Pig

The Good Good Pig
The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood

by Sy Montgomery

“Hilarious, enchanting, and deeply affecting . . . Montgomery writes with extraordinary lucidity, candor, and grace about what this good, good pig taught her and others about life, love [and] happiness.” —Booklist

READING LEVEL: 7th Grade

Back to top


Graphic Novels



The Complete Persepolis

The Complete Persepolis
by Marjane Satrapi

“You've never seen anything like Persepolis—the intimacy of a memoir, the irresistibility of a comic book, and the political depth of the conflict between fundamentalism and democracy. Marjane Satrapi may have given us a new genre.”
—Gloria Steinem

READING LEVEL: 8th Grade


Pride of Baghdad

Pride of Baghdad
by Brian K. Vaughan and Niko Henrichon

In the spring of 2003, a pride of lions escaped from the Baghdad Zoo during an American bombing raid. Lost and confused, the four lions roamed the decimated streets of Baghdad in a desperate struggle to survive. In documenting the plight of the lions, this graphic novel raises questions about the true meaning of freedom.

READING LEVEL: 9th Grade

Back to top

Examination Copies are available


. .


independent readers


Tigerheart

by Peter David
Tigerheart

Find books for independent readers by ability level.

View more titles...

.
professional reading

Origins of the Specious
by Patricia T. O'Conner and Stewart Kellerman
Origins of the Specious

View more titles...




.
.
.
.
.