.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
.


Sign-up for the High School Newsletter:
   

.
Search the Site

.

online catalog --
--
title info
AWARDS
CONTENTS
order this title
ordering info for teachers
--
Email this Page
Print this Page
Search Again
--
In Pharaoh's Army
Memories of the Lost War
Written by Tobias Wolff

In Pharaoh's Army .

Category: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs
Imprint: Vintage
Format: Trade Paperback
Pub Date: September 1995
Price: $15.95
Can. Price: $17.95
ISBN: 978-0-679-76023-8 (0-679-76023-7)
Pages: 240
Also available as an eBook.



 
This is Wolff’s brilliant and unflinching account of his tour in Vietnam, expressed with the immediacy of autobiography and the art of his best fiction. Traversing an arc that leads from paratrooper’s jump school to the carnage of the Tet offensive, recreating a war where survival depends less on skill than it does on blind luck and the ability to look inoffensive, In Pharaoh’s Army is a war memoir in the tradition of George Orwell and Michael Herr.

“Painful . . . powerful . . . brilliant. The book is remarkable in its language, which is as supple and distilled as any contemporary American writer’s; in its economy; in its structure; and, most of all, in its candor, humor and generosity of spirit. . . .  By every measure of feeling and technique, it’s a magnificent and sobering achievement.” —Chicago Tribune

“A book about shattered illusions and personal loss, about survival and healing and growth. Told in Wolff’s superbly intimate, ironic voice, it represents the latest chapter in an unforgettable personal history. . . . A rich and quietly commanding autobiography from a master of the form.” —Cleveland Plain Dealer



AWARDS

 
FINALIST 1994 - National Book Awards





.
.
.
.
.
.