book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about

Search the Site

Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

Search the Site

College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
. .
Search the Site


online catalog --
title info
order this title
ordering info for teachers
Email this Page
Print this Page
Search Again
Colored People
A Memoir
Written by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Colored People .

Category: Social Science - Ethnic Studies - African American Studies; Social Science - Discrimination & Race Relations; Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs
Imprint: Vintage
Format: Trade Paperback
Pub Date: April 1995
Price: $15.00
Can. Price: $17.50
ISBN: 978-0-679-73919-7 (0-679-73919-X)
Pages: 240

Gates's memoir of his early life in the mill town of Piedmont, West Virginia in the 1950s and 1960s takes readers into the world of a small, intimate, middle-class "colored" community in all its warmth, complexity, and unapologetic pride. It was a time when the United States was just crossing the threshold into desegregation; when racial boundaries were constantly shifting and progress was measured primarily by the number of black faces that appeared on television. Gates's memories and portraits of the family members, friends, neighbors, and townspeople of his childhood combine to form an indelible portrait of the now-vanished society that blacks created for themselves under the veil of segregation.

"A remembrance of childhood and youth in the 1950s and 1960s that is almost elegiac in its soft tone.... His is an important document--to say nothing of a beautiful work of prose--in the literature of growing up."


I. Will the Circle Be Unbroken?
1. Colored People
2. Prime Time
3. Wet Dogs & White People
4. In the Kitchen

II. Family Pictures
5. Up the Hill
6. Down the Cumberland
7. Playing Hardball

III. Over in the Orchard
8. Current Events
9. Love Junkie
10. Joining the Church

IV. Saved
11. Change of Life
12. Eternity
13. Living Under Grace

V. Negro Digest
14. Just Talking to the Lord
15. Shattering the Sugar Bowl
16. Abandoning Ship

VI. One Day Next Tuesday
17. Sin Boldly
18. Walk the Last Mile
19. The Last Mill Picnic