The Vintage Bradbury
The greatest stories by America's most distinguished practioner of speculative fiction
Written by Ray Bradbury

The Vintage Bradbury Category: Fiction - Science Fiction - Collections & Anthologies; Fiction - Short Stories (single author); Fiction - Literary
Imprint: Vintage
Format: Trade Paperback
Pub Date: July 1990
Price: $16.00
Can. Price: $19.00
ISBN: 978-0-679-72946-4 (0-679-72946-1)
Pages: 352



The author of Fahrenehit 451 and The Martian Chronicles, offers a personal selection of his best stories, featuring “Dandelion Wine,” “The Illustrated Man,” "The Veldt," “The Wonderful Ice Cream Suit,” and twenty other classics.

American cousin to Borges and Garcia Marquez, Ray Bradbury is a writer whose vision of the world is so intense that the objects in it sometimes levitate or glow with otherworldly auras. Who but Bradbury could imagine the playroom in which children's fantasies become real enough to kill? The beautiful white suit that turns six down-and-out Chicanos into their ideal selves? Only Bradbury could make us identify with a man who lives in terror of his own skeleton. And if a generic science fiction writer might describe a spaceship landing on Mars, only Bradbury can tell us how the Martians see it--and the dreamlike visitors from Planet Earth.


"Ray Bradbury is one of the most original living American authors....A curious mixture of poetry and colloquialism, [his style] is so brisk and full of unexpected quirks that it never becomes boring....Most of Ray's stories are impossible-so far-but they are certainly convincing....His work will last."

-- Gilbert Highet, from the Introduction


Ray Bradbury (1920–2012) was America's foremost writer of science fiction and fantasy. Among his most popular adult books were Fahrenheit 451The Martian ChroniclesThe Illustrated ManDandelion Wine, and Death Is a Lonely Business. In addition, he wrote several books for children, including Switch on the Night. In recognition of his stature in the world of literature, Bradbury was awarded the National Book Foundation's 2000 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters and the National Medal of Arts in 2004.