.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
.


Sign-up for the High School Newsletter:
   

.
Search the Site

. author profiles

Julia Blackburn

Julia Blackburn is the author of several other works of nonfiction, including Charles Waterton and The Emperor’s Last Island, and of two novels, The Book of Color and The Leper’s Companions, both of which were short-listed for the Orange Prize. Her most recent book, Old Man Goya, was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award. Blackburn lives in England and Italy.

. Julia Blackburn
Enlarge View

Photo © Jerry Bauer



author bookshelf SORT BY: on AUTHOR | off TITLE | off PUB DATE
dots





The Book of Color
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | August 1996
$15.00/22.00(Canada) | 978-0-679-75837-2 (0-679-75837-2)

In the late 19th century, an English missionary arrives on a remote island in the Indian Ocean, intent on wiping our fornication among the natives. Instead he incurs a curse that strikes first his dark-skinned wife, then his son and grandson. But is the curse supernatural--or a white man's guilty fascination... Read more






Daisy Bates in the Desert
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | August 1995
$15.00/18.95(Canada) | 978-0-679-74446-7 (0-679-74446-0)

In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez. Read more






The Emperor's Last Island
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | March 1993
$16.00/18.00(Canada) | 978-0-679-73937-1 (0-679-73937-8)

In 1814 Napoleon Bonaparte arrived on St. Helenad surreal exile that would last until his death six years later. "A resonant meditation on exile, fame, the stories we tell about ourselves (and) the bigger stories we tell about our great figures."--Los Angeles Times Book Review. Read more






The Leper's Companions
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | September 2000
$16.95/18.95(Canada) | 978-0-679-75838-9 (0-679-75838-0)

In this fascinatingly imaginative novel, Julia Blackburn has decimated all the rules, creating a magical tale that is part fable, part allegory, part present, part past, and wholly genuine and poetic.

The unnamed protagonist has recently lost someone she loved, and her solution is to abandon the present, and the overwhelming... Read more






Old Man Goya
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | July 2003
$13.95/18.95(Canada) | 978-0-375-70579-3 (0-375-70579-1)

In 1792, when he was forty-seven, the Spanish painter Francisco de Goya contracted an illness that left him stone deaf. Yet he continued to interact with the world and to create, spending the next thirty-five years in a world emptied of sound but bursting with images of pageantry, cruelty, and pathos.

In... Read more






The Three of Us
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | July 2009
$16.00/19.00(Canada) | 978-0-307-27893-7 (0-307-27893-X)

This is the story of three people: acclaimed writer Julia Blackburn; her father, Thomas - a poet and alcoholic with an addiction to barbiturates; and her mother, Rosalie - a flirtatious painter with no boundaries.After Julia's parents divorced, her mother took in male lodgers with the hope they would become her... Read more






With Billie
Written by Julia Blackburn
Vintage | Trade Paperback | April 2006
$14.95/21.00(Canada) | 978-0-375-70580-9 (0-375-70580-5)

Few jazz singers have become icons like Billie Holiday. In With Billie, we hear the voices of those people who knew Billie best: piano players and dancers, pimps and junkies, lovers and narcs, producers and critics, each recalling intimate stories of the Billie they knew. What emerges is a portrait of... Read more





.
.
.
.
.
.