.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
.


Sign-up for the High School Newsletter:
   

.
Search the Site

. author profiles

J.D. McClatchy

J. D. McClatchy is the author of seven previous collections of poetry and of three collections of prose. He has edited numerous other books, including The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry, and has written a number of opera libretti that have been performed at the Metropolitan Opera, Covent Garden, La Scala, and elsewhere. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, where he served as president from 2009 to 2012. McClatchy teaches at Yale University and is editor of The Yale Review.


. J.D. McClatchy
Enlarge View

Photo © 2014 Stone Roberts



author bookshelf SORT BY: on AUTHOR | off TITLE | off PUB DATE
dots





Animal Poems
Edited by Carmela Ciuraru, Emily Fragos and J.D. McClatchy
Everyman's Library | Hardcover | December 2010
$53.00/66.39(Canada) | 978-0-307-70086-5 (0-307-70086-0)

A must-have collection for any animal lover. These delightful volumes from the Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets series contain rich and assorted cadences from poets across the centuries. With colorful cloth sewn bindings, elegant gold stamped covers, and silk ribbon markers, these books are essentials for any home library.

Titles included:
Doggerel, edited by... Read more






Selected Poems
Written by Anthony Hecht, Edited by J.D. McClatchy
Knopf | Trade Paperback | March 2011
$21.00/25.00(Canada) | 978-0-375-71198-5 (0-375-71198-8)

Alongside Wallace Stevens, James Merrill, and other pillars of twentieth-century poetry, Anthony Hecht joins the Borzoi Poetry series.

Hecht, whose writing rings with the cadences of the King James Bible, and who, as an infantryman at the end of World War II, participated in the liberation of the concentration camps, lived and... Read more






Christmas Poems
Edited by John Hollander and J.D. McClatchy
Everyman's Library | Hardcover | October 1999
$13.50/16.99(Canada) | 978-0-375-40789-5 (0-375-40789-8)

Christmas is both a holiday and a holy day, and from the start it has been associated with poetry, from the song of the seraphim above the manger to the cherished carols around the punch bowl. This garland of Christmas poems contains not only the ones you would insist on finding... Read more






The Four Seasons
Edited by J.D. McClatchy, Introduction by J.D. McClatchy
Everyman's Library | Hardcover | June 2008
$14.95/17.95(Canada) | 978-0-307-26834-1 (0-307-26834-9)

For the poet, even the most minute details of the natural world are starting points for flights of the imagination, and the pages of this collection celebrating the four seasons are brimming with an extraordinary range of observation and imagery. 

Here are poets past and present, from Chaucer, Shakespeare, and Wordsworth... Read more






Hazmat
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Knopf | Trade Paperback | April 2004
$15.00/23.00(Canada) | 978-0-375-70991-3 (0-375-70991-6)

HAZMAT, meaning “hazardous material,” is an abbreviation familiar from signs at the entrances to long dark tunnels or on the sides of suspicious containers. Here, in a series of stunning poems, J. D. McClatchy examines the first hazmat we all encounter: our own bodies. The virtuosic “Tattoos” meditates on why we... Read more






Mercury Dressing
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Knopf | Trade Paperback | May 2011
$18.00/20.00(Canada) | 978-0-375-71178-7 (0-375-71178-3)

This beautiful collection from J. D. McClatchy holds up a mirror to the soul, considering heroic and human figures in poems that “balance mandarin wit with enormous learning, a fully twenty-first-century sensibility and a deft use of the demotic” (Bookpage). Read more






Plundered Hearts
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Knopf | Hardcover | March 2014
$28.95/33.00(Canada) | 978-0-385-35151-5 (0-385-35151-8)

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden... Read more






Ten Commandments
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Knopf | Trade Paperback | December 1999
$15.00/22.50(Canada) | 978-0-375-70134-4 (0-375-70134-6)

Ten Commandments is a book-length sequence of poems that plot the rules we were raised on, rules we forget but can't evade. Here is the whole underworld of desire, its tasks and perversions. Here are the iron laws and the way the heart is shaped by them, even as it prefers... Read more






The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Vintage | Trade Paperback | June 1996
$18.00/22.00(Canada) | 978-0-679-74115-2 (0-679-74115-1)

This groundbreaking volume may well be the poetry anthology for the global village. As selected by J.D. McClatchy, this collection includes masterpieces from four continents and more than two dozen languages in translations by such distinguished poets as Elizabeth Bishop, W.S. Merwin, Ted Hughes, and Seamus Heaney. Among the countries and... Read more






The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy
Vintage | Trade Paperback | April 2003
$18.95/22.50(Canada) | 978-1-4000-3093-4 (1-4000-3093-5)

Dazzling in its range, exhilarating in its immediacy and grace, this collection gathers together, from every region of the country and from the past forty years, the poems that continue to shape our imaginations. From Robert Lowell and Elizabeth Bishop, John Ashbery and Adrienne Rich, to Robert Haas and Louise Gluck... Read more






The Changing Light at Sandover
Written by James Merrill, Edited by J.D. McClatchy and Stephen Yenser
Knopf | Trade Paperback | August 2011
$30.00/35.00(Canada) | 978-0-375-71174-9 (0-375-71174-0)

A welcome return to paperback: James Merrill’s most famous and celebrated work. Read more





.
.
.
.
.
.