book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about

Search the Site

Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

Search the Site

College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
. .
Search the Site

. this just in

book cover 2009 Alex Award Winners

Random House, Inc. is pleased to announce that The Oxford Project, by Stephen G. Bloom, photographed by Peter Feldstein, Three Girls and Their Brother, by Theresa Rebeck, and The Good Thief, by Hannah Tinti, have been selected as recipients of the 2009 Alex Award.

Each year, the Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

Click here for a full listing of Random House, Inc. titles that have previously won the award.

horizontal line
book cover Literature to Life program

The American Place Theatre's Literature to Life is an arts and literacy outreach program serving tens of thousands young people and educators in New York City and across the country. Literature to Life develops students' engagement and academic achievement by fostering personal connections to their classroom curriculum through theatre.

Ray Bradbury's classic American novel, Fahrenheit 451, is the newest Literature to Life adaptation now available as a presentation for students and educational audiences.

Click here to learn more about The American Place Theatre's Literature to Life program. And visit joinproject451.org to learn about free programs for under-served schools.

horizontal line
book cover Firoozeh Dumas Wins 2008 Spirit of America Award

Firoozeh Dumas, author of Funny in Farsi, has received the 2008 Spirit of America Award. Awarded by the National Council for the Social Studies, this honor is given to an individual in or out of the social studies profession who has made a significant or special contribution which exemplifies the "American Democratic Spirit." Such a person has followed their conscience and acted against current thinking in order to stand up for equity, freedom, and the American spirit of justice.

Prior recipients include Jimmy Carter, Rosa Parks, Jim Lehrer, and Mr. (Fred) Rogers.

. .

News archive:

June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
September 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
March 2015
February 2015
December 2014
September 2014
August 2014
May 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
September 2013
August 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
July 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
July 2010
May 2010
March 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
November 2008
September 2008
August 2008
June 2008
April 2008
March 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
June 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March 2006
February 2006