.
book book
Home awards catalogs newsletter calendar resources exam about
.



Search the Site
.


Enter keywords, ISBN, author, or book title

 
.
Search the Site

Art
Art
College Planning
Education and Teaching
Language and Literature
Foriegn Language Instruction
Performing Arts
Reference
Science and Mathematics
Social Studies
Test Prep
Writer's Workshop

Search the Site
.


Sign-up for the High School Newsletter:
   

.
Search the Site

The Hobbit

Vintage Classics

Graphic Novels
. .
Facebook icon Twitter icon Word Press icon YouTube icon


Books for Summer Reading 2014

In addition to providing the latest news about our books, this website also offers: free teacher's guides; articles for professional development; links to lesson plans; author biographies; and an educational calendar marking key anniversaries with teachable book suggestions.

For more detailed information about what you can do on our site, please see our Site Map.



this just in

Penguin Random House Sixth Annual Author Event for NYC Educators

Calling all tri-state teachers! You are invited to the Penguin Random House Sixth Annual Author Event for NYC Educators. Please RSVP soon as space for this event fills up quickly.

Held at the Random House building in midtown Manhattan on Monday, October 13th from 1-4pm, the event will feature ten authors who will each discuss and sign free copies of their book.

The featured authors are: Dana Goldstein (The Teacher Wars), Mark Chiusano (Marine Park), E. Lockhart (We Were Liars), Meg Wolitzer (Belzhar), Leigh Fondakowski (The Laramie Project), Ken Ludwig (How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare), Michael Sokolove (Drama High), Jordan Ellenberg (How Not to Be Wrong), "Science Bob" Pflugfelder (Nick and Tesla's Super-Cyborg Gadget Glove), and Benedict Carey (How We Learn).

Click here for the official invitation. Click here to RSVP.

Questions? Email teacherevent@randomhouse.com.


horizontal line
Teacher Awards Penguin Random House Teacher Awards for Literacy

The Penguin Random House Teacher Awards recognize the nation's most dynamic and resourceful teachers who use their creativity to inspire and successfully instill a love of reading in students. The winning teachers will be awarded grants to help make their innovative reading programs possible.

The deadline for applications is September 15, 2014.

Click here for more information, including the complete award guidelines and application.


horizontal line
book cover Maya Angelou Passes Away at 86

Maya Angelou passed away on Wednesday, May 28th at her home in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. She was 86 years old. An award-winning poet, writer, performer, teacher, and director, Dr. Angelou was raised in Stamps, Arkansas, and then moved to San Francisco. Her first book, the groundbreaking autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, was published in 1969 to critical acclaim and has become a core text in middle school, high school and college reading lists across the country. Dr. Angelou went on to write thirty-five more books, including volumes of poetry, essay collections, children's books, cookbooks, and six further memoirs. Click here to read her full obituary in The New York Times.


horizontal line
book cover Awards for American Teacher by Katrina Fried

American Teacher (Welcome Books) by Katrina Fried has recently been awarded both the IPPY Gold Medal for Peacemaker Book of the Year and a Silver Medal in Social Change from the Nautilus Book Awards. Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Awards has also named American Teacher as a finalist in the Education category. Winners will be announced on June 27th at the ALA Conference in Las Vegas.

Author Katrina Fried recently gave a speech to the Teacher's College at Emporia State University about the importance of exceptional teachers and the "12 Rules for Being a Classroom Hero." Watch her talk here.



news in brief

• Be sure to tune in and watch American Promise, premiering on POV, the Emmy Award-winning PBS series, on Monday, February 3, 2014. Created and directed by Joe Brewster, M.D., and Michèle Stephenson, this documentary also ties into their new book Promises Kept: Raising Black Boys to Succeed in School and Life (Spiegel & Grau).

Sonia Nazario, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Enrique's Journey: The Story of a Boy's Dangerous Odyssey to Reunite with His Mother, addressed the United Nations in New York City on June 25th, 2013 about how to better manage global migration as part of its Panel Discussion on International Migration and Development. Click here to watch Nazario speak to the UN General Assembly (Nazario appears at 23:50).

• Millburn High School in New Jersey has selected Born to Run for Millburn's Second Annual Big Read! All high school students will read the book this summer and the greater community is invited to participate. Author Christopher McDougall will visit the campus in October, coinciding with a charity 5K that is currently being planned.

• Susan Cain, author of the bestseller Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking (Crown), has won the prestigious Golden Gavel award. The award, presented annually by Toastmasters International, is given to an individual distinguished in the fields of communication and leadership. Cain will accept the award at a dinner in her honor, held during Toastmasters' annual convention August 23rd in Cincinnati, OH.




new books

How We Learn
By Benedict Carey

How We LearnIn the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

 

 

. . .

Gwynne's Grammar
By N.M. Gwynne

Gwynne's Grammar"Dynamite to modern, child-centered education: a guide to the forgotten rudiments of the English Language." —Daily Telegraph (UK)

"Witty, engaging and highly educational stuff." —Times Educational Supplement (UK)






.


Station Eleven

By Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven"Mandel's vision is not only achingly beautiful but startlingly plausible, exposing the fragile beauty of the world we inhabit. In the burgeoning postapocalyptic literary genre, Mandel's transcendent, haunting novel deserves a place alongside The Road, The Passage, and The Dog Stars."
—Kristine Huntley, Booklist (starred)




 

. . .


Hider, Seeker, Secret Keeper

By Elizabeth Kiem

Hider, Seeker, Secret Keeper"A smart, tough thriller with an all-too-timely topic. . . . Lana is a persuasive heroine; jaded, mature, and self-reliant. She has few illusions about the world in which she operates." —School Library Journal



 




. .


independent readers


Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

By Haruki Murakami Translated by Philip Gabriel
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Find books for independent readers by ability level.

View more titles...

.
professional reading

The Teacher Wars
By Dana Goldstein
The Teacher Wars

View more titles...



News archive:

September 2014
August 2014
May 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
September 2013
August 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
July 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
July 2010
May 2010
March 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
November 2008
September 2008
August 2008
June 2008
April 2008
March 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
June 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March 2006
February 2006

Subscribe:

XML

.
.
.
.
.