2012 Judges & Evaluation Process

We are proud to continue a multi-stage judging process, which includes three phases of review. After meeting a specified set of criteria in Round 1, the top 20 percent of entries are moved on to Round 2. Round 2 of the process narrows the entrants down to 40-60 finalists in each subcategory by combining the scores from Round 1 and Round 2. Round 3, the final step in the process, determines the winners in each of the three categories by combining the scores of all three judging phases. These finalists are then reviewed and discussed by our judging panel and our final winners are determined.

Harold Augenbraum - Executive Director - National Book Foundation
Michael Braff - Editor - Random House Worlds
Lauren Culley - Course Graduate - Columbia Publishing
Trish Dantzic - Program Founder and Teaching Artist
Lee Ellis - Fiction Reviews- The New Yorker
Janice Erlbaum - Author - Villard Books
Eliot Figman - Publisher - Poets & Writers Magazine
Deborah Garrison - Random House, Inc.
Erin Gruwell - Author - Freedom Writers
Richard Hoehler- Actor, Writer & Teaching Artist
Chris Jackson- Editor - Random House, Inc.
Elizabeth Lewis, Program Coordinator - Everybody Wins! Foundation
Jamila Lyiscott - Program Associate- Urban Word
Christopher Momenee - Editor - Writer's Lifeline, Inc.
Erica S. Perl - Author - First Book
Evelyn Polesny - Writer, Educator & Actress
Calvin Reid - Co-Editor - PW Comics Week
Michael Romanos - Showcase & Children's Room Coordinator - Poet's House
Barbara Rothenberg - President - New York City Association Principals Supervising English
Alex Simmons - Educational Outreach Director - New York Museum for Comic & Cartoon Art
Alissa Torres - Author, Villard Books
Jo Umans - Executive Director - Behind the Book


Home | About | Categories | Rules/Criteria | Awards | Winners | For Teachers | Photos | Judges | Contact