Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
eBooks
Newletters and Alerts
593 books in Performing Arts

Subscribe to the Random House What's New Newsletter.

Your Email Address:

Subscribe to our RSS/XML feed with web-based news readers.
Click your choice:

RSS
RSS PDF
Atom Feed
Add to Google

Browse Category

Find more Performing Arts books by browsing the categories below.

Performing Arts:

Performing Arts:

Sort: Author   Bestselling  Format   Date   Price   Title  
Creativity, Inc.
Creativity, Inc.
Written by Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace, Read by Peter Altschuler
Format: Unabridged Compact Disc
ISBN: 9780804127448
Our Price: $35.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Written by Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace
Read by Peter Altschuler


Format: Unabridged Compact Disc
On Sale: April 8, 2014
Price: $35.00

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“What does it mean to manage well?”
 
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc... Read more >
Also available as an unabridged audiobook download, eBook and a hardcover.
Apollo's Angels
Apollo's Angels
Written by Jennifer Homans
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780812968743
Our Price: $20.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Apollo's Angels
A History of Ballet
Written by Jennifer Homans


Format: Trade Paperback, 672 pages
On Sale: November 29, 2011
Price: $20.00

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

For more than four hundred years, the art of ballet has stood at the center of Western civilization. Its traditions serve as a record of our past. Lavishly illustrated and beautifully told, Apollo’s Angels—the first cultural history of ballet ever written—is a groundbreaking work. From ballet’s origins in the Renaissance...

Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
Writing Short Films
Writing Short Films
Written by Linda J. Cowgill
Format: eBook
ISBN: 9780307875143
Our Price: $16.99
amazon.com
barnesandnoble.com
borders.com
Google eBookStore
kobobooks.com
more>>
Writing Short Films
Structure and Content for Screenwriters
Written by Linda J. Cowgill


Format: eBook, 275 pages
On Sale: October 20, 2010
Price: $16.99

This new edition has been completely updated and revised along with the addition of several new chapters. Currently, this title remains the best selling university text book on writing short film screenplays. Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.
The Making of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
The Making of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
Written by J. W. Rinzler, Foreword by Brad Bird
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780345511461
Our Price: $85.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

The Making of Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

Written by J. W. Rinzler
Foreword by Brad Bird


Format: Hardcover, 372 pages
On Sale: October 1, 2013
Price: $85.00

Just as Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi completed the most successful cinematic trilogy of its generation, perhaps of all time, this splendid thirtieth-anniversary tribute completes New York Times bestselling author J. W. Rinzler’s trio of fascinating behind-the-scenes books celebrating George Lucas’s classic films.
 
Once again, the... Read more >
The Actor's Guide to Creating a Character
The Actor's Guide to Creating a Character
Written by William Esper and Damon Dimarco, Afterword by David Mamet, Introduction by Patricia Heaton
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780345805683
Our Price: $16.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

The Actor's Guide to Creating a Character
William Esper Teaches the Meisner Technique
Written by William Esper and Damon Dimarco
Afterword by David Mamet
Introduction by Patricia Heaton


Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages
On Sale: April 8, 2014
Price: $16.00

William Esper, one of the most celebrated acting teachers of our time, takes us through his step-by-step approach to the central challenge of advanced acting work: creating and playing a character.

Esper’s first book, The Actor’s Art and Craft, earned praise for describing the basics taught in his famous first-year acting class. The Actor’s... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
Cary Grant
Cary Grant
Written by Marc Eliot
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780307209832
Our Price: $16.99
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Cary Grant
A Biography
Written by Marc Eliot


Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages
On Sale: September 27, 2005
Price: $16.99

Rigorously researched and elegantly written, Cary Grant: A Biography is a complete, nuanced portrait of the greatest star in cinema history. Exploring Grant’s troubled childhood, ambiguous sexuality, and lifelong insecurities, as well as the magical amalgam of characteristics that allowed him to remain Hollywood’s favorite romantic lead for more than thirty-five... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
Hollywood Babylon
Hollywood Babylon
Written by Kenneth Anger
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780440153252
Our Price: $8.99
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Hollywood Babylon
The Legendary Underground Classic of Hollywood's Darkest and Best Kept Secrets
Written by Kenneth Anger


Format: Paperback, 448 pages
On Sale: November 15, 1981
Price: $8.99

Read more >
An Acrobat of the Heart
An Acrobat of the Heart
Written by Stephen Wangh
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375706721
Our Price: $16.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

An Acrobat of the Heart
A Physical Approach to Acting Inspired by the Work of Jerzy Grotowski
Written by Stephen Wangh


Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages
On Sale: September 19, 2000
Price: $16.00

A Vintage Original

"The actor will do, in public, what is considered impossible." When the renowned Polish director Jerzy Grotowski began his 1967 American workshop with these words, his students were stunned. But within four weeks they themselves had experienced the "impossible."

In An Acrobat of the Heart, teacher-director-playwright Stephen Wangh reveals how... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
Jimmy Stewart
Jimmy Stewart
Written by Marc Eliot
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9781400052226
Our Price: $16.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Jimmy Stewart
A Biography
Written by Marc Eliot


Format: Trade Paperback, 480 pages
On Sale: September 25, 2007
Price: $16.00

Jimmy Stewart’s all-American good looks, boyish charm, and deceptively easygoing style of acting made him one of Hollywood’s greatest and most enduring stars. Despite the indelible image he projected of innocence and quiet self-assurance, Stewart’s life was more complex and sophisticated than most of the characters he played. With fresh insight... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
Steve McQueen
Steve McQueen
Written by Marc Eliot
Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780307453228
Our Price: $15.00
 Quantity: 1 
Buy From a Local Store

Steve McQueen
A Biography
Written by Marc Eliot


Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages
On Sale: October 2, 2012
Price: $15.00

Steve McQueen is one of America’s legendary movie stars best known for his hugely successful film career in classics such as The Magnificent Seven, The Great Escape, The Thomas Crown Affair, Bullitt, and The Towering Inferno as well as for his turbulent life off-screen and impeccable style. His unforgettable physical beauty... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.
View pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10
Page 4 of 60
View past category highlights: