Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!
  • Written by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm
  • Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9780375832291
  • Our Price: $6.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

Buy now from Random House

  • Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!
  • Written by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm
  • Format: Hardcover Library Binding | ISBN: 9780375932298
  • Our Price: $12.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

Written by Jennifer L. HolmAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew HolmAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Matthew Holm

Babymouse #1: Queen of the World! Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!
  • Email this page - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!
  • Print this page - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
ABOUT THE AUTHOR ABOUT THE AUTHOR
PRAISE & AWARDS PRAISE & AWARDS
READER'S GUIDE READER'S GUIDE
RELATED VIDEOS RELATED VIDEOS
Synopsis|Reader Reviews

Synopsis

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!

Meet Babymouse—Her dreams are big! Her imagination is wild! Her whiskers are ALWAYS a mess! In her mind, she's Queen of the World! In real life…she's not even Queen of the lunch table.

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling, three-time Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE! It's the same thing every day for Babymouse. Where is the glamour? The excitement? The fame?!? Nothing ever changes, until…Babymouse hears about Felicia Furrypaws's exclusive slumber party. Will Babymouse get invited? Will her best friend, Wilson, forgive her if she misses their monster movie marathon? Find out in Babymouse #1: Queen of the World! All new BABYMOUSE BONUS: How to Draw Babymouse & Create-Your-Own-Comic!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:

"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Kirkus Reviews:
"Emergent readers will cheer 'Babymouse!'"

Table of Contents

Jasyln B., 9:
"Babymouse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did someone say Babymouse? I love Babymouse. I love love love love Babymouse. Please tell me you all like Babymouse. If you don't you just made me shiver. Well, please enjoy BABYMOUSE, FOR ME!"

Griffin, 9:
"I love it because it is an adventure book that has all this crazy stuff and Babymouse is funny with her life. I think you guys would love Babymouse."

Sydney B., 9:
"I love Babymouse because it can teach people to read and it is really good. Plus, I love Jennifer Holm. I love Jennifer Holm because she is really pretty and she inspires me. And also because I love all the wonderful books she has created."

Hunter, 9:
"Babymouse is awesome and funny. All kids should read a Babymouse."

Logan K., 9:
"Babymouse is funny and I love it so much. If I didn't know about Babymouse I would die."

Ashley K., 10:
"I like how she gets woke up late and the narrator says, "Babymouse I think the bus is here." She always has to walk to school. I like Babymouse Skater Girl because she gets really tired and she goes crazzzzzzzzzzzzyyyyyy."

Ti S., 10:
"What I love about Babymouse is that she is funny, and she imagines stuff that I like to do, like surfing. That is in Babymouse Beach Babe. Another reason is because it has a song in one of the books and it that is really funny too :)"

Soham D., 9:
"I love Babymouse because she has a great imagination and I like how her Locker brings her on adventures."

Abbie H., 9:
"Babymouse is funny. I like how her locker has everything in it. Do you like cupcakes? Babymouse loves cupcakes!"

Ashley R., 9:
"I like Babymouse because there is epic awesomeness in the beginning and middle and even the end. I want to be able to read the book Babymouse For President."

Brady D. 9:
"I like Babymouse because it is funny and you will make you jump off your feet and laugh. And it is made by Jennifer L. Holm one of the best novelist EVER."

Caleb J., 10:
"Everything!!!!!!! Well because it is funny, entertaining, AWESOME, EPIC and creative."

Emily S., 9:
"Hi! I love Babymouse because she has so many adventures. It doesn't just make you love reading, but it also has life lessons, like with you and your friends."

Cameron M., 10:
"What I like about Babymouse is that it has lots of imagination. It required a lot of skill to write Babymouse. You should at least try it."

Katie R., 9:
"I love Babymouse because. . . .It is funny, it is a graphic novel. and I love it."

Jayla C., 10:
"What I love about Babymouse is how it’s a very good adventures and because it's pink and well, I like the color pink. Also the writing in Babymouse is awesome!!!!"
Jennifer L. Holm

About Jennifer L. Holm

Jennifer L. Holm - Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

Photo © Photo provided by the author

This book, Turtle in Paradise, started with a story my mom liked to tell about her childhood. During the summers, her grandmother would take her to Key West to visit her relatives. Her mother made her promise to “shake her shoes out.” My mom didn’t know why her mother wanted her to do this, but she did it anyway. And then one hot day, she shook her shoes and out popped . . . a scorpion!
 
Writing Turtle in Paradise was a wonderful way to re-connect with my Key West heritage. My great-grandmother, Jennie Lewin Peck, emigrated from the Bahamas to Key West at the turn of the century. She considered herself a “Conch,” what the local Key West folks called themselves, after the native mollusk that so many fished for in the Bahamas. Nana was always talking about how she missed sugar apple ice cream and Spanish limes. When my editor, Shana Corey, started asking me about Nana and my Key West family, I just knew that there was a story somewhere in there.
 
Researching this book was also an interesting way to experience a different side of living through the Great Depression. While Key West suffered significant economic hardship (the town went bankrupt and the majority of the citizens were on economic relief), it didn’t have the same sort of feel as most of the depression stories I was used to hearing—soup lines, tent cities, and the Dust Bowl. Key West was warm for one thing, and there was plenty of free food, courtesy of the sea. One man told me, he ate lobster during the Depression! Key West was a freewheeling town full of characters and bygone industries—sponge fishing, rumrunners, and, of course, pirates! It had all the ingredients for a fabulous setting.
 
I hope you enjoy reading Turtle in Paradise as much as I enjoyed writing it. And if you ever go to Key West, be sure to shake out your shoes!
Praise | Awards

Praise

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Awards

WINNER 2006 Gryphon Award
WINNER 2006 ALA Notable Children's Book
WINNER 2006 New York Book Show Awards
NOMINEE Pennsylvania Young Readers Choice Award
Teachers Guide
Related Videos

On the Web


Watch the Babymouse Classroom Cast!

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: