Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • The Boggart
  • Written by Susan Cooper
    Read by David Rintoul
  • Format: Unabridged Audiobook Download | ISBN: 9780804166942
  • Our Price: $15.00
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - The Boggart

The Boggart

Written by Susan CooperAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Susan Cooper
Read by David RintoulAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by David Rintoul

Audio Editions

Read by David Rintoul
On Sale: April 30, 2013
ISBN: 978-0-8041-6694-2
More Info...
Listen to an excerpt
Visit RANDOM HOUSE AUDIO to learn more about audiobooks.
The Boggart Cover

Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - The Boggart
  • Email this page - The Boggart
  • Print this page - The Boggart
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.
> Link to Audio Clip
Related Links


Centuries old and thousands of miles from home.

When Emily and Jess Volnik's family inherits a remote, crumbling Scottish castle, they also inherit the Boggart--an invisible, mischievous spirit who's been playing tricks on residents of Castle Keep for generations. Then the Boggart is trapped in a rolltop desk and inadvertently shipped to the Volniks' home in Toronto, where nothing will ever be the same--for the Volniks or the Boggart.

In a world that doesn't believe in magic, the Boggart's pranks wreak havoc. And even the newfound joys of peanut butter and pizza and fudge sauce eventually wear thin for the Boggart. He wants to go home--but his only hope lies in a risky and daring blend of modern technology and ancient magic.
Susan Cooper

About Susan Cooper

Susan Cooper - The Boggart
Susan Cooper, one of today's most distinguished children's book writers, won a Newbery Medal and a Newbery Honor for books in her fantasy sequence, The Dark is Rising. The first in the series, Over Sea, Under Stone, is perhaps more readily identified as a family adventure story, but it is much more than that. In Over Sea, Under Stone we have the first insights into the battle between the Dark and the Light and the introduction to the Arthurian and Celtic myths and legends which permeate the whole of the sequence. After completing Over Sea, Under Stone the listener has experienced only a taster of what is to come in the remaining stories. The Dark Is Rising series is a triumph. The series of books is moulded by Susan Cooper's own background and each book effectively weaves a path between the stuff of myth and legend and the lives of everyday people - people like us. One of the books in the series, The Grey King, won the Newbery Medal and The Dark Is Rising was a Newbery Honor book. 

Susan lives in a house on an island in a salt marsh in Massachusetts, where she is close to her children and grandchildren in the town next door.  Visit her online at www.thelostland.com.

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: