Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • The Barrow
  • Written by Mark Smylie
  • Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9781616148911
  • Our Price: $18.00
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - The Barrow

Buy now from Random House

  • The Barrow
  • Written by Mark Smylie
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9781616148928
  • Our Price: $11.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - The Barrow

The Barrow

    Select a Format:
  • Book
  • eBook

Written by Mark SmylieAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Mark Smylie

eBook

List Price: $11.99

eBook

On Sale: March 04, 2014
Pages: | ISBN: 978-1-61614-892-8
Published by : Pyr Prometheus Books
The Barrow Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - The Barrow
  • Email this page - The Barrow
  • Print this page - The Barrow
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
ABOUT THE AUTHOR ABOUT THE AUTHOR
PRAISE PRAISE
Tags for this book (powered by Library Thing)
fantasy (4)
fantasy (4)
Synopsis

Synopsis

Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books.


To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map.   

When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place.

Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed.
Mark Smylie

About Mark Smylie

Mark Smylie - The Barrow
Mark Smylie is the author of The Barrow and Black Heart (The Barrow Book Two). He has worked as a writer, illustrator, editor, and publisher for over a decade. His epic military fantasy graphic novel series, Artesia, was first published by Sirius beginning in 1999. He was nominated for the Russ Manning Award for Best Newcomer that year, and for an Eisner Award for Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition in 2001. Over the years his illustrations have appeared in game books from Wizards of the Coast, White Wolf, and most recently Kobold Press, and in collectible card games from AEG. He designed and illustrated a role-playing game based on Artesia that won the Origins Award for Role-Playing Game of 2006 and three Indie RPG Awards, and was nominated for six ENnies. Mark founded Archaia Studios Press (ASP) in 2002 as a self-publishing home for his graphic novels, and the company, now an imprint at BOOM! Studios, has expanded over the years to publish a wide variety of American and European graphic novelists, including award-winning titles such as Mouse Guard, The Killer, Return of the Dapper Men, and Jim Henson's Tale of Sand.
Praise

Praise

“Genuinely inspired, shockingly erotic, and completely fantastic, The Barrow is an immersive read that grabs you in its own strange gravity and leaves you craving more.... It is bloody beautiful.”
—John R. Fultz, author of Seven Sorcerers and the Books of the Shaper trilogy

“A gritty fantasy adventure set in a vivid and complex world. Fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch will love The Barrow.”
—Mike Lee, author of Fallen Angels and The Rise of Nagash

"'Epic' doesn't even begin to describe the nuances and complexities of the plots and alliances in this fresh take on highly recommended heroic fantasy."
—Jeff VanderMeer, World Fantasy Award–winning author of Annihilation

“I love Mark Smylie’s world. Fans of deep, intricate settings with complex cultures and fascinating histories are in for a treat with The Barrow. Anyone who likes Steven Erikson should check this out.”
—Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

  • The Barrow by Mark Smylie
  • March 04, 2014
  • Fiction - Fantasy - Epic
  • Pyr
  • $18.00
  • 9781616148911

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: