Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Plundered Hearts
  • Written by J.D. McClatchy
  • Format: Hardcover | ISBN: 9780385351515
  • Our Price: $28.95
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Plundered Hearts

Buy now from Random House

  • Plundered Hearts
  • Written by J.D. McClatchy
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9780385351522
  • Our Price: $14.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Plundered Hearts

Plundered Hearts

    Select a Format:
  • Book
  • eBook

New and Selected Poems

Written by J.D. McClatchyAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by J.D. McClatchy

eBook

List Price: $14.99

eBook

On Sale: March 25, 2014
Pages: 288 | ISBN: 978-0-385-35152-2
Published by : Knopf Knopf
Plundered Hearts Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Plundered Hearts
  • Email this page - Plundered Hearts
  • Print this page - Plundered Hearts
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
ABOUT THE AUTHOR ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Synopsis

Synopsis

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and Elizabeth Bishop––one who balances an exploration of the underworld of desire with a mastery of poetic form, and whose artistry reveals the riches and ruins of our “plundered hearts.” Now, opening with exquisite new poems––including the stunning “My Hand Collection,” a catalogue of art objects that steals up on the complexity of human touch, and a witty and profound poem entitled “My Robotic Prostatectomy”––this selection is a glorious full tour of McClatchy’s career. It includes excerpts from the powerful book-length sequence Ten Commandments (1998) and his more recent works Hazmat (2002) and Mercury Dressing (2009)—books that explored the body’s melodrama, as well as the heart’s treacheries, grievances, and boundless capacities. All of his poems present a sumptuous weave of impassioned thought and clear-sighted feeling. He has been rightly hailed as a poet of “ferocious alertness,” one who elicits (says The New Leader) “the kind of wonder and joy we experience when the curtain comes down on a dazzling performance.”
J.D. McClatchy

About J.D. McClatchy

J.D. McClatchy - Plundered Hearts

Photo © Stone Roberts

J. D. McClatchy is the author of seven previous collections of poetry and of three collections of prose. He has edited numerous other books, including The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry, and has written a number of opera libretti that have been performed at the Metropolitan Opera, Covent Garden, La Scala, and elsewhere. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, where he served as president from 2009 to 2012. McClatchy teaches at Yale University and is editor of The Yale Review.


Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: