Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Penance
  • Written by Dan O'Shea
  • Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9781909223134
  • Our Price: $14.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Penance

Buy now from Random House

  • Penance
  • Written by Dan O'Shea
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9781909223141
  • Our Price: $6.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Penance

Penance

    Select a Format:
  • Book
  • eBook

Introducing Detective John Lynch

Written by Dan O'SheaAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Dan O'Shea

eBook

List Price: $6.99

eBook

On Sale: April 30, 2013
Pages: | ISBN: 978-1-909223-14-1
Published by : Exhibit A Watkins Media
Penance Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Penance
  • Email this page - Penance
  • Print this page - Penance
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
PRAISE PRAISE
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.
Synopsis

Synopsis

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too.

Because one dark secret might be about to tear a whole city apart.

A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot dead by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot.

Colonel Tech Weaver dispatches a team from Langley to put the shooter—and anyone else who gets in the way—in a body bag before a half-century of national secrets are revealed.

Detective John Lynch, the son of a murdered Chicago cop, finds himself cast into an underworld of political corruption and guilty secrets, as he tries to uncover the truth about what’s really going on – before another innocent citizen gets killed.
Praise

Praise

Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O’Shea’s astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note.”
– Chris F. Holm, Stoker-nominated author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye.

“A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O’Shea’s Penance is a bonafide blockbuster.”
 Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals.

Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970′s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem.”
– Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison."
- Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living

 "A heart-pounding ride that leaves you breathless, yet allows for unforgettable moments of grace. A must-read."
-Hilary Davison, Award-winning author of The Damage Done

"With John Lynch and Penance, Dan O'Shea has produced a worthy competitor [to Michael Connelly]"
-BigSandwich6  

"Gritty, intense and exciting."
-Cayocosta72

"Expect PENANCE to shake things up and conquer conspiracy enthusiasts as well as hardboiled literature fans. It's a tremendous novel. The kind you experience, rather than read."
-Dead End Follies
 
"Penance is a heartbreaking account of love and loss, and the havoc that grief can wreak on an unstable mind."
-Katrina Niidas Holm, CriminalElement

"Pour out yourself a strong glass of Penance, add a couple more fingers worth, and shoot it straight. You might get a fierce burn in the back of your throat and by the time you’ve finally run out, you will be thanking O’Shea for crafting such a rare piece of fine art."
-Liam, The Troubled Scribe

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: