Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

See more online stores - Jason and the Argonauts

Buy now from Random House

  • Jason and the Argonauts
  • Written by Neil Smith
    Illustrated by Jose Pena
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9781472801012
  • Our Price: $13.95
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Jason and the Argonauts

Jason and the Argonauts

    Select a Format:
  • Book
  • eBook

Written by Neil SmithAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Neil Smith
Illustrated by Jose Daniel Cabrera PenaAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Jose Daniel Cabrera Pena


List Price: $13.95


On Sale: March 19, 2013
Pages: 80 | ISBN: 978-1-4728-0101-2
Published by : Osprey Publishing Osprey Publishing
Jason and the Argonauts Cover

Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Jason and the Argonauts
  • Email this page - Jason and the Argonauts
  • Print this page - Jason and the Argonauts
Synopsis|Table of Contents


The voyage of Jason and the Argonauts and their hunt for the Golden Fleece is one of the most enduringly popular of all of the Ancient Greek heroic myths. Accepting the quest in order to regain his kingdom, Jason assembled a legendary crew including many of Greece's greatest heroes such as Hercules, Orpheus, Atalanta, Telamon, and the twins Castor and Pollux. With this band of heroes and demi-gods, Jason set sail in the Argo on a journey across the known world. During their quest, the Argonauts faced numerous challenges including the harpies, the clashing rocks, the Sirens, Talos the bronze man, the sleepless dragon that guarded the fleece, and of course the fickle will of the gods of Olympus.

Dr. Neil Smith retells this classic myth, examining its origins, its history, and its continued popularity. The text is supported by numerous illustrations both classical and modern, including numerous artwork plates especially commissioned for this work.

Table of Contents


Book I: The Journey Begins
The Man with One Sandal
The Argo
The Quest Begins
Into the Storm
Interlude on Lemnos
The Monstrous Sacrifice
The Mount of Bears
The Loss of Heracles

Book II: The Voyage to Colchis
The Bebrycian Boxing Match
Phineas and the Harpies
The Clashing Rocks
Apollo and Lycus
Disaster Strikes
The Birds of Ares

Book III: The Golden Fleece
Lively Debate
The Treacherous King
The Trials of Jason
The Golden Fleece 

Book IV: The Journey Home
The Wrathful King
Jason's Shameful Act
Divine Punishment
Scylla and Charybdis
Return of the Colchins
The Endless Desert
The Deaths of Canthus and Mopsus
The Tritonian Lake
Darkness and Light
The Return to Iolcus

Select Bibliography


"...outstanding visual, literary coverage that [does] more than retell a legned..."
- James A. Cox, The Midwest Book Review (June 2013)

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: