Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Leaving Cold Sassy
  • Written by Olive Ann Burns
    Read by Peter MacNicol
  • Format: Abridged Audiobook Download | ISBN: 9780553750409
  • Our Price: $6.95
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Leaving Cold Sassy

Leaving Cold Sassy

Written by Olive Ann BurnsAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Olive Ann Burns
Read by Peter MacNicolAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Peter MacNicol

Audio Editions

Read by Peter MacNicol
On Sale: July 05, 2000
ISBN: 978-0-553-75040-9
More Info...
Visit RANDOM HOUSE AUDIO to learn more about audiobooks.
Leaving Cold Sassy Cover

Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Leaving Cold Sassy
  • Email this page - Leaving Cold Sassy
  • Print this page - Leaving Cold Sassy
Categories for this book
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.


Cold Sassy Tree, Olive Ann  Burns unforgettable story of a Georgia town at the  turn of the century, has captivated millions of  readers with its tale of Grandpa Blakeslee, his young  bride Miss Love, and the irrepressible  fiteen-year-old Will Tweedy. Throughout her long battle with  cancer, Olive Ann Burns worked passionately on a  sequel to this magical book. Only during her final  days did she realize she wouldn't complete it,  dictating from her hospital bed her wishes that the  finished chapters be published.

The result  is Leaving Cold Sassy - a  portait of the grown-up Will Tweedy; of the feisty  young schoolteacher who captures his heart; of the  town that has claimed a place in the American  imagination; and, in a fascinating reminiscence by her  editor, of Olive Ann Burns, a writer who didn't get  a chance to finish her extraordinary tale.

  Complete with Olive Ann Burn's notes for later  scenes and chapters exactly as she wrote them,  Leaving Cold Sassy is a final, loving  goodbye to Cold Sassy, Georgia.

From the Trade Paperback edition.
Olive Ann Burns

About Olive Ann Burns

Olive Ann Burns - Leaving Cold Sassy
Olive Ann Burns was a writer for all of her professional life, but she completed only one book before her death in 1990. That book, Cold Sassy Tree, has become a phenomenon since its publication in 1984, selling over one million copies worldwide and still going strong. The author was born in Banks County, Georgia on July 17, 1924, on land originally farmed by her great-great-grandfather. She was the youngest of four children. She died on July 4, 1990. Her unfinished sequel to Cold Sassy Tree, entitled Leaving Cold Sassy, was published after her death.

Olive Ann once told an interviewer, "It has been said that growing up in the South and becoming a writer is like spending your life riding in a wagon, seated in a chair that is always facing backwards. I don't face life looking backwards, but I have written about past times and past people. To write Cold Sassy Tree, I interviewed parents, aunts, and old cousins, and I took down what they said in
their own words, using the rhythms of their own speech. What I was after was not just names and dates. I wanted stories and details that would bring the dead to life."

Although Olive Ann Burns' literary output was limited to two works, her colorful characters, detail-driven use of setting, and humor-laced plots endeared her to readers of all ages. In large part because she was inspired by what she knew best—the idiosyncricies of her own family history—Burns was able to bring a region and an era to life.

  • Leaving Cold Sassy by Olive Ann Burns
  • July 05, 2000
  • Fiction
  • Random House Audio
  • $6.95
  • 9780553750409

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: