Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

See more online stores - Contemporary World Literature

Contemporary World Literature

The African Trilogy; House of the Spirits; One Hundred Years of Solitude; The Cairo Trilogy; A House for Mr. Biswas; Midnight's Children

Written by Chinua AchebeAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Chinua Achebe, Isabel AllendeAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Isabel Allende, Gabriel Garcia MarquezAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Naguib MahfouzAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Naguib Mahfouz and V.S. NaipaulAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by V.S. Naipaul

Contemporary World Literature Cover

Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Contemporary World Literature
  • Email this page - Contemporary World Literature
  • Print this page - Contemporary World Literature
Categories for this book
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.


An extraordinary collection of renowned world literature including Nobel Prize winners and beloved fiction writers in beautiful, enduring hardcover editions with elegant cloth sewn bindings, gold stamped covers, and silk ribbon markers.

Titles included:
The African Trilogy by Chinua Achebe
The Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz
A House for Mr. Biswas by V. S. Naipaul
The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende
Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
Chinua Achebe|Isabel Allende|Gabriel Garcia Marquez|Naguib Mahfouz|V.S. Naipaul

About Chinua Achebe

Chinua Achebe - Contemporary World Literature

Photo © Jerry Bauer

Chinua Achebe was born in Nigeria in 1930. His first novel, Things Falls Apart, became a classic of international literature and required reading for students worldwide. He also authored four subsequent novels, two short-story collections, and numerous other books. He was the David and Marianna Fisher University Professor and Professor of Africana Studies at Brown University and, for over 15 years, was the Charles P. Stevenson Jr. Professor of Languages and Literature at Bard College. In 2007, Achebe was awarded the Man Booker International Prize for lifetime achievement. He died in 2013.

About Isabel Allende

Isabel Allende - Contemporary World Literature
Isabel Allende nació en 1942 en Perú, donde su padre era diplomático chileno. Vivió en Chile entre 1945 y 1975, con largas temporadas de residencia en otros lugares en Venezuela hasta 1988 y, a partir de entonces, en California. Inició su carrera literaria en el periodismo, en Chile y en Venezuela. En 1982 su primera novela, La casa de los espíritus, se convirtió en uno de los títulos míticos de la literatura latinoamericana. A ella le siguieron otros muchos, todos los cuales han sido éxitos internacionales. Su obra ha sido traducida a treinta y cinco idiomas.

About Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Gabriel Garcia Marquez - Contemporary World Literature

Photo © Caleb Bach

García Márquez was born in Aracataca, Colombia, in 1927. He attended the University of Bogotá and went on to become a reporter for the Colombian newspaper El Espectador. He later served as a foreign correspondent in Rome, Paris, Barcelona, Caracas, and New York. Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982, he is the author of several novels and collections, including No One Writes to the Colonel and Other Stories, The Autumn of the Patriarch, Innocent Erendira and Other Stories, Chronicle of a Death Foretold, The General in His Labyrinth, Strange Pilgrims, Love and Other Demons, and most recently Memories of My Melancholy Whores, as well as the autobiography Living to Tell the Tale.

About Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz - Contemporary World Literature

Photo © Barry Iverson

Naguib Mahfouz was born in Cairo in 1911 and began writing when he was seventeen. A student of philosophy and an avid reader, his works range from reimaginings of ancient myths to subtle commentaries on contemporary Egyptian politics and culture. Over a career that lasted more than five decades, he wrote 33 novels, 13 short story anthologies, numerous plays, and 30 screenplays. Of his many works, most famous is The Cairo Trilogy, consisting of Palace Walk (1956), Palace of Desire (1957), and Sugar Street (1957), which focuses on a Cairo family through three generations, from 1917 until 1952. In 1988, he became the first writer in Arabic to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. He died in August 2006.

About V.S. Naipaul

V.S. Naipaul - Contemporary World Literature

Photo © Carolyn Djanogly

V. S. Naipaul was born in Trinidad in 1932. He went to England on a scholarship in 1950. After four years at University College, Oxford, he began to write, and since then has followed no other profession. He has published thirty books of fiction and nonfiction, including A House for Mr. Biswas, A Bend in the River, A Turn in the South and a collection of letters, Between Father and Son. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2001.

  • Contemporary World Literature by Chinua Achebe, Isabele Allende, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Naguib Mahfouz, V.S. Naipaul, Salman Rushdie
  • December 21, 2010
  • Fiction - Literary
  • Everyman's Library
  • $165.95
  • 9780307700827

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: