Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Haunting Bombay
  • Written by Shilpa Agarwal
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9781569477083
  • Our Price: $14.00
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Haunting Bombay

Haunting Bombay

Written by Shilpa AgarwalAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Shilpa Agarwal

eBook

List Price: $14.00

eBook

On Sale: April 01, 2009
Pages: 368 | ISBN: 978-1-56947-708-3
Published by : Soho Press Soho Press
Haunting Bombay Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Haunting Bombay
  • Email this page - Haunting Bombay
  • Print this page - Haunting Bombay
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
PRAISE PRAISE
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.
Synopsis

Synopsis

"[An] intriguing debut novel...Agarwal seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural."—USA Today


"[Shilpa] Agarwal's work will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri by virtue of its characters and setting, but it retains a fresh, original feel that will draw in new readers with its own literary merit. Recommended for all but the smallest fiction collections."—Library Journal

“In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India.”—Aimee Liu, author of Flash House

After her mother’s death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle’s family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle’s family, she has always had Maji’s love.

One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky’s arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.

Shilpa Agarwal was born in Bombay and currently lives in Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Duke University and UCLA and has taught at both UCLA and UC Santa Barbara. As an unpublished novel, Haunting Bombay won a 2003 First Words Literary Prize for South Asian Writers. It is her first novel.


From the Hardcover edition.
Praise

Praise

A San Francisco Chronicle bestseller

“Intriguing.”—USA Today

“Will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri . . . fresh, original.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

  • Haunting Bombay by Shilpa Agarwal
  • April 01, 2009
  • Fiction - Literary; Fiction - Ghost
  • Soho Press
  • $14.00
  • 9781569477083

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: