Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • Overlord
  • Written by Ken Ford and Steven J. Zaloga
  • Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9781849084789
  • Our Price: $18.95
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - Overlord

Overlord

The Illustrated History of the D-Day Landings

Written by Ken FordAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Ken Ford and Steven J. ZalogaAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Steven J. Zaloga

Overlord Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - Overlord
  • Email this page - Overlord
  • Print this page - Overlord
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
PRAISE PRAISE
Synopsis

Synopsis

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich.

Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied troops assaulted the beaches of the Cotentin peninsular against stiff German resistance. Coordinated with the amphibious landings were airborne and glider landings, carrying out crucial orders to take key areas, enable the vital link-up between the beaches and secure the bridgehead. Casualties, especially on Omaha Beach, were horrendous, but the assaults were successful, and so began the arduous task of liberating Europe from Nazi occupation.

For fans of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor's D-Day, military history enthusiasts and World War 2 historians, Overlord offers a detailed military account of the important campaigns in Normandy in 1944. The book provides a close analysis at the plans and build-up to the operation, and, accompanied by photos, maps and artwork, discusses the events of D-Day in each of the key areas of the operation.
Praise

Praise

"An excellent account of one of the greatest and most dramatic military operations ever undertaken. The authors possess an intimate knowledge of the ground and a clear understanding of their sources, and have produced not only a lively and well illustrated narrative, but also a powerful and incisive analysis of some of the key reasons for the Allies' triumph. Possibly the best single-volume study of the D-Day landings currently available." - Dr Simon Trew, Department of War Studies, Royal Military Academy Sandhurst

"...the authors have packed a wealth of information into this remarkable book." -Frederick Boucher, www.Armorama.com

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: