Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Authors
Books
Features
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • The Force of Spirit
  • Written by Scott Russell Sanders
  • Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9780807062975
  • Our Price: $18.00
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - The Force of Spirit

The Force of Spirit

Written by Scott Russell SandersAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Scott Russell Sanders

The Force of Spirit Cover

Bookmark,
Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - The Force of Spirit
  • Email this page - The Force of Spirit
  • Print this page - The Force of Spirit
ABOUT THE BOOK ABOUT THE BOOK
PRAISE PRAISE
Synopsis

Synopsis

Scott Russell Sanders reveals how the pressure of the sacred breaks through the surfaces of ordinary life-a life devoted to grown-up children and aging parents, the craft of writing, and the natural world. Whether writing to his daughter and his son as each prepares to get married, or describing an encounter with a red-tailed hawk in whose form he glimpses his dead father, or praising the disciplines of writing and carpentry and teaching, Sanders registers, in finely tuned prose, the force of spirit.
Praise

Praise

Sanders's voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully. -Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

"In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay." -Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

"Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence." -Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

"One of America's finest essayists. Sanders writes with a rare grace and sensitivity, befriending the reader by being so human himself." —Phillip Lopate

"Sanders's voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully." —Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

"In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay." —Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

"Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence." —Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: