Random House: Bringing You the Best in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Children's Books
Newletters and Alerts

Buy now from Random House

  • After The War
  • Written by Richard Marius
  • Format: eBook | ISBN: 9780307828934
  • Our Price: $15.99
  • Quantity:
See more online stores - After The War

After The War

Written by Richard MariusAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Richard Marius


List Price: $15.99


On Sale: February 13, 2013
Pages: 624 | ISBN: 978-0-307-82893-4
Published by : Knopf Knopf
After The War Cover

Share & Shelve:

  • Add This - After The War
  • Email this page - After The War
  • Print this page - After The War
This book has no tags.
You can add some at Library Thing.


In his third and most powerful work of fiction, the acclaimed author of The Coming of Rain and Bound for the Promised Land—biographer also of Thomas More—immerses us in the rich life of an American town, in the subtle and complex experience of becoming an American, in the good and evil of a time gone by.

The place is Bourbonville, Tennessee. The time: the end of the First World War. The protagonist: Paul Alexander—Greek by birth, Belgian by adoption, wounded in the war, nearly to death, and now washed up history, by accident, by odd fate, on the edges of Bourbonville, and soon to become part of its center.

This is a town where people have known one another for generations, a town full of talkers, compulsive storytellers—thrilled to have a new listener to whom they can pour out local scandals, triumphs, secrets, especially the ongoing saga of the great schism between Moreland Pinkerton, champion of Progress who has drained a swamp to a foundry, and Brian Ledbetter and his Weaver stepsons, independent farmers with the values of an earlier, more agrarian America, who see Pinkerton as a bully and a destroyer. Listening, fascinated, Paul is reluctantly drawn into the life of the town, into the world beyond Mrs. Coolidge’s where he boards, one of seven bachelors. And—through both his work and his friendships—into the battle between Pinkerton (his boss at the foundry) and Ledbetter (whose granddaughter loves him) for the town’s soul.

Inevitably, the two factions find themselves in dangerous confrontation where a black war veteran’s attempt to organize the foundry’s black workers erupts into racial animosities and bloody industrial conflict. And, in the midst of these violent events, Paul’s own astonishing story—his exile from Greece and his wartime ordeal—unfolds as he begins to move away from his past into the heart of the town, finding himself eventually part even of its myths.

In After the War, Marius has given us a large and moving novel that compels us both by its panoramic amplitude and by its revelation of one fascinating life in the throes of change.
Richard Marius

About Richard Marius

Richard Marius - After The War

Photo © Nancy Crampton

Richard Marius was born and grew up on a farm in East Tennessee. He received his bachelor?s degree from the University of Tennessee and his doctorate from Yale University. After teaching history at Gettysburg College and the University of Tennessee, he headed the Expository Writing Program at Harvard from 1978 to 1998.
An Affair of Honor is the third of a loose trilogy of novels set in fictional Bourbon County, Tennessee, the first two volumes being The Coming of Rain and After the War. He is also the author of a fourth novel, Bound for the Promised Land; two major biographies, Thomas More and Martin Luther; and a style book, The Writer?s Companion. He was the editor of a book of Civil War poetry and of several volumes in the Yale Edition of The Complete Works of Thomas More. He died in 1999.

Your E-Mail Address
send me a copy

Recipient's E-Mail Address
(multiple addresses may be separated by commas)

A personal message: