the o. henry awards   first prize
"The Deep"
Mary Swan
Introduced by Mary Gordon

second prize
"Big Me"
Dan Chaon
Introduced by Michael Chabon

third prize
Special Award for Continuing Achievement
"Floating Bridge"
Alice Munro
Introduced by Mona Simpson

"Servants of the Map"
Andrea Barrett

"Zog 19: A Scientific Romance"
Pinckney Benedict

"The Love of My Life"
T. Coraghessan Boyle

"At the Jim Bridger"
Ron Carlson

"Revival Road"
Louise Erdrich

"The Paperhanger"
William Gay

"The Mourning Door"
Elizabeth Graver

"Bow Down"
Murad Kalam

"That Winter"
Fred G. Leebron

"Female Trouble"
Antonya Nelson

"The Girl with the Blackened Eye"
Joyce Carol Oates

Dale Peck

George Saunders

"The Smoker"
David Schickler
back to o. henry awards
Bold Type