animating feature photos Bold Type
volume 3.01: therapy
past issues
back of the book
readings

audio
readings


contributors
masthead
newsletter
email us
links

pullquote

features
 
For the Relief of Unbearable Urges Nathan Englander

The New York Times has praised Nathan Englander for the "bountiful and finely honed" talents apparent in his debut short-story collection, For the Relief of Unbearable Urges. Englander offers the title story of his collection, and reads another of his stories aloud, in this issue of Bold Type.
 
Trumpet Jackie Kay

A bizarre news item inspired Jackie Kay to write Trumpet, her stunning debut novel about the life and death of a jazz musician with a bewildering secret. Read an excerpt from Trumpet and an interview with the author.
 
Indiana Gothic Pope Brock

In Indiana Gothic, Pope Brock has written a remarkable nonfiction novel in the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and In Cold Blood. It's an atmospheric and gripping true story of love, betrayal and murder in his own family that is also a bold saga of America's past.
 
Famous After Death Benjamin Cheever

Famous After Death, the third novel from Benjamin Cheever, is a wildly funny and merciless satire of a culture obsessed with celebrity, featuring one of the most likable literary heroes in recent history.
 
Teeth of the Dog Jill Ciment

Reminiscent of the work of Graham Greene and Paul Bowles, Teeth Of The Dog is a haunting novel of love and suspense set on the mythical Melanesian island of Vanduu.
 
  /features
 
 
Bold Type is brought to you by:
Random House, Inc.