animating feature photos Bold Type
volume 3.12: sacrifice
past issues
back of the book


audio
readings


poetry

newsletter

 


masthead

email us
links

features
 
National Poetry Month National Poetry Month

Celebrate National Poetry Month with Kenneth Koch, Henri Cole, Anne Michaels, Afaa Weaver, and Dan Halpern.
 
Bruce Chatwin Nicholas Christopher

With English Passengers, Matthew Kneale has written both a vastly entertaining high-seas epic adventure story and a dazzling, multi-voiced literary masterpiece that is already earning the highest accolades. In this interview, Kneale explains why and how he brought together old-fashioned storytelling--replete with salty sea captains, lunatic adventurers, greedy colonizers, and aggrieved natives--and stunningly ambitious literary technique.
 
Lightning on the Sun Robert Bingham

Robert Bingham died last December of a heroin overdose, leaving behind a bittersweet literary success. Though difficult to read outside the specter of his death, Lightning on the Sun is a rich and sophisticated thriller in the tradition of Robert Stone and Graham Greene, two of Bingham's literary heroes, and is a sad testament to what might have been.
 
Bodega Dreams Ernesto Quinonez

Bodega Dreams is a street smart debut novel that takes readers into the heart of the barrio in Spanish Harlem. In language, character, and plot, Quiñonez reveals a city-within-the-city and invites the world at large to discover it at last.
 
  /features
 
 
Bold Type is brought to you by:
Random House, Inc.