Anchor Books The O. Henry Prize Stories
About the Series Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction
O. Henry Bio
Publishing History
Author Spotlight
Prize Jury
About the Editor
Notable Magazines
Index of Literary Magazines
Contact Us
Contact Us

Buy the Book

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2014

Prize Jury: Tash Aw, James Lasdun, Joan Silber

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2014 gathers twenty of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines. The winning stories roam the world, from Nigeria to Venice, from an erupting volcano in Iceland to a brothel in the old Wild West. They feature a dazzling array of characters: a young American falling in love in Japan, a girl raised by snake-handling fundamentalists, an old man mourning his late wife, and a fierce guard dog with a talent for escape. Accompanying the stories are the editor's introduction, essays from the eminent jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winning writers on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines.

  • See the list of this year's winners.
  • Browse Author Spotlights for some of this year's winning and recommended authors.
  • Read the introduction.
  • View the Table of Contents.
  • Buy the book.

    Interested in submitting a story for prize consideration? Read our Submission Guidelines for details and directions.

    More about:
  • Juror Favorites
  • How the Stories are Chosen

  • 2014 Edition

    "The Gun"
    Mark Haddon
    Chosen by: Tash Aw

    "The Inheritors "
    Kristen Iskandrian
    Tin House
    Chosen by: James Lasdun

    "Opa-locka "
    Laura van den Berg
    The Southern Review
    Chosen by: Joan Silber

    The Jurors on their Favorites...
    The Full List of Winners...

    Throughout the year, magazine editors submit their issues to The O. Henry Prize Stories series editor, Laura Furman. The stories must be published in an American or Canadian periodical and originally written in English. Novel excerpts and works in translation are not considered. Online publications are not eligible for submission to the O. Henry Prize Stories.

    From the multitude of stories submitted, the editor chooses twenty winners that stand out above the rest. Each juror then reads the twenty winning stories in manuscript form, without knowledge of author names or publications. Without consulting one another, they each select their favorite and write a short essay about what led them to their choice.

    More about . . .