Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
a movie...and a book

a movie...and a book

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!

Order Exam Copy
E-Mail this Page Print this Page
Add This - a movie...and a book

Written by Daniel WagnerAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Daniel Wagner

  • Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages
  •  
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • On Sale: July 12, 2005
  • Price: $11.95
  • ISBN: 978-1-4000-7617-8 (1-4000-7617-X)
Also available as an eBook.
about this book

“Life is a game: it's a movie and it's a book. It's not always easy, but there is always a way. You just have to look at it the right way.”

In this stunning debut, Daniel Wagner delivers a soulful examination of the forces that both drive us and oppose us. Jim Frazier is a writer with very little to show for it. He worries that the only way to achieve success is to lower the bar, sell out, and pander to commercialism. Meanwhile, somewhere far away, a woman named Liz and a man named Lou are stranded on a desert island. While they are faced with an obviously serious problem, the two have some more important issues to discuss. As these two seemingly separate stories converge, Wagner presents a meditation on the worlds we inhabit that will resonate long after the credits roll and the last page has been turned.


“A sly novel. . . . Figuring out what is fiction and what is reality is half the fun of this book.” —Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

“I'm honestly not sure whether I was so happily hypnotized by a movie . . . and a book because of the spellbinding film it unspooled in my mind or because of the way it held me enrapt as a novel. But I do know that I was absolutely mesmerized by it from the start to finish.” —Chris Bohjalian, author of Midwives and The Buffalo Soldier

"A must-read for fans of Memento and Adaptation." –Eric Garcia, author of Matchstick Men