Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
The Rooms of Heaven

The Rooms of Heaven

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!

Order Exam Copy
E-Mail this Page Print this Page
Add This - The Rooms of Heaven

Written by Mary AllenAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Mary Allen

  • Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages
  •  
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • On Sale: April 11, 2000
  • Price: $15.95
  • ISBN: 978-0-679-77656-7 (0-679-77656-7)
Also available as an eBook.
about this book

“A love story, a memoir, a haunting tale of grief and healing. This book is all that and more.” —Chicago Tribune

In the tradition of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Caroline Knapp's Drinking: A Love Story, Mary Allen tells a riveting love story that explores the uncharted territory between passion and addiction, grief and madness, this world and the next.

When Mary Allen falls in love with Jim Beaman, she doesn’t know he has a drug problem, but she does sense demons and angels around him, like “a disturbance in the air, a sound just beyond the register of human hearing.” And when Jim—discouraged and depressed, struggling with his addiction—kills himself a year into their relationship, Allen is unable to let him go. In her desperate attempts to recover from the loss, she uses a Ouija board and automatic writing to pull back from reality into the dark recesses of her mind, where she believes she can find him. The result is a mesmerizing trip across the boundaries between this world and the afterlife, a journey that leads her to the brink of insanity and ultimately back to herself.

“Wrenching in its spare, humble prose....It will stay with you.” —Esquire

“Intelligent, humorous, unsentimental. . . . [The Rooms of Heaven] convince[s] us that the mystery of love is indeed far greater and more profound than the mystery of death.” —Francine Prose, Elle