Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!

Order Exam Copy
E-Mail this Page Print this Page
Add This - St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

Written by Karen RussellAuthor Alerts:  Random House will alert you to new works by Karen Russell

  • Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages
  •  
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • On Sale: August 14, 2007
  • Price: $15.00
  • ISBN: 978-0-307-27667-4 (0-307-27667-8)
Also available as an unabridged audiobook download and an eBook.
about this book

A San Francisco Chronicle, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune Best Book of the Year

In these ten glittering stories, debut author Karen Russell takes us to the ghostly and magical swamps of the Florida Everglades. Here wolf-like girls are reformed by nuns, a family makes their living wrestling alligators in a theme park, and little girls sail away on crab shells. Filled with stunning inventiveness and heart, St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves introduces a radiant new writer.


“A master of tone and texture and an authority on the bizarre, Karen Russell writes with great flair and fearlessness.”
—Carlo Wolff, The Denver Post

“How I wish these were my own words, instead of breakneck demon writer Karen Russell’s, whose stories begin, in prose form, where the jabberwock left off. . . . Run for your life. This girl is on fire.”
—Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times Book Review

“Karen Russell is a storyteller with a voice like no other. . . . Laced with humor and compassion.”
—Lauren Gallo, People

“One of the strangest, creepiest, most surreal collections of tales published in recent memory. . . . Her writing bristles with confidence.” —June Sawyers, San Francisco Chronicle

“Twent-five--year-old wunderkind Karen Russell . . . proves herself a mythologist of the darkest and most disturbing sort. . . . Ten unforgettable, gorgeously imaginative tales.”
—Jenny Feldman, Elle

“Endlessly inventive, over–the–top, over–the–edge stories, all delivered in the most confident, exquisitely rambunctious manner. Fabulous fun.”
—Joy Williams, author of The Quick and the Dead and State of Grace

“Hallelujah! Karen Russell’s work sweeps the ground from beneath your feet and replaces it with something new and wondrous, part Florida swampland, part holy water. A confident, auspicious, unforgettable debut.”
—Gary Shteyngart, author of The Russian Debutante’s Handbook and Absurdistan

“This book is a miracle. Karen Russell is a literary mystic, channeling spectral tales that surge with feeling. A devastatingly beautiful debut by a powerful new writer.”
—Ben Marcus, author of The Age of Wire and String and Notable American Women

“[Karen Russell] merges the satirical spirit of George Saunders with the sophisticated whimsy of recent animated Hollywood film. . . . Russell has powers of description and mimicry reminiscent of Jonathan Safran Foer . . . and her macabre fantasies structurally evoke great Southern writers like Flannery O’Conner.”
Publishers Weekly

“In spare but evocative prose, the 25–year–old conjures a weird world of young misfits and ghosts in the Everglades. Girls are swept off to sea in giant crab shells and fall in love with spirits; boys have Minotaurs for fathers and incurable dream disorders that cause them to live through humanity’s greatest tragedies night after night.”
W Magazine

“Hey smartie, this is for your literary side! Edgy–lit lovers will adore this debut short-story collection set in imaginative venues like icebergs.”
Glamour

“Originality, surrealism and eccentricity . . . one can sense Russell’s enthusiasm and playfulness, both of which she has in spades.”
Chicago Tribune Sunday

“Most writers her age haven’t yet matched Russell’s chief achievement: honing a voice so singular and assured that you’d willingly follow it into dark, lawless territory. Which, as it happens, is exactly where it leads us.”
Time Out New York

“Already a master of tone and texture and an authority on the bizarre, Karen Russell writes with great flair and fearlessness. . . . The stories of shape-shifting and transmutation in St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves are so extreme and convincing, you fear for what Russell dreams.”
The Denver Post

“With this weird, wondrous debut, 25–year–old Russell blows up the aphorism ‘Age equals experience.’ She also suggests ‘Write what you know’ is similarly useless, unless she’s a girl living on a Florida farm, two brothers who dive for the ghost of their dead sister, and children at a sleep–disorder camp. These stories are part Flannery O’Connor, part Gabriel García Márquez, and entirely her own.”
Entertainment Weekly

“[St. Lucy’s] is in multifarious ways a marvelous book in the tradition of George Saunders and Katherine Dunn.”
New York Post

“Unforgettable. . . . Original and astonishing, joyful and unsettling, these are stories that will stay with readers.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Russell’s first story collection is a thing of beauty. . . . This startlingly original set if stories, which feels as though it might have been written by Lemony Snicket and Margaret Atwood, is not to be missed, and author Russell, whose fiction debuted in The New Yorker and who was chosen by New York magazine as one of “25 People to Watch Under 25,” is poised to become a literary powerhouse.”
Library Journal

“Karen Russell’s startlingly original collection . . . features graceful and seductive prose that transports the reader into surreal and yet utterly plausible realms.”
Bookpage

“Karen Russell’s fresh and original voice makes this a stunning collection to savor.”
Pages

“Russell makes her sparkling debut with these 10 curious, sophisticated and whimsical stories.”
OK! Weekly

“She’s the real deal.”
Knight News