Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
Julia Blackburn
Julia Blackburn Enlarge Photo

Photo © Jerry Bauer

  • About this Author
author spotlight

Julia Blackburn is the author of several other works of nonfiction, including Charles Waterton and The Emperor’s Last Island, and of two novels, The Book of Color and The Leper’s Companions, both of which were short-listed for the Orange Prize. Her most recent book, Old Man Goya, was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award. Blackburn lives in England and Italy.

author bookshelf
Sort: Date  Format  Price  Title

Exam Copy
The Book of Color

Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 192 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: August 27, 1996
Price: $15.00

Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

The Book of Color

Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 192 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $11.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Daisy Bates in the Desert
A Woman's Life Among the Aborigines
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 240 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $11.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Daisy Bates in the Desert
A Woman's Life Among the Aborigines
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 240 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: August 8, 1995
Price: $15.00

In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez. Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Exam Copy
The Emperor's Last Island
A Journey to St. Helena
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: March 31, 1993
Price: $16.00

Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

The Emperor's Last Island
A Journey to St. Helena
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 288 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $11.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
The Leper's Companions
A Novel
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 208 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: September 5, 2000
Price: $16.95

In this fascinatingly imaginative novel, Julia Blackburn has decimated all the rules, creating a magical tale that is part fable, part allegory, part present, part past, and wholly genuine and poetic.

The unnamed protagonist has recently lost someone she loved, and her solution is to abandon the present, and the overwhelming... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

The Leper's Companions
A Novel
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 208 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $13.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Old Man Goya

Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: July 8, 2003
Price: $13.95

Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award For Criticism

In 1792, when he was forty-seven, the Spanish painter Francisco de Goya contracted an illness that left him stone deaf. Yet he continued to interact with the world and to create, spending the next thirty-five years in a world emptied of sound... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Old Man Goya

Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 256 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $9.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
The Three of Us
A Family Story
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: July 14, 2009
Price: $16.00

This is the story of three people: acclaimed writer Julia Blackburn; her father, Thomas—a poet and alcoholic with an addiction to barbiturates; and her mother, Rosaliea flirtatious painter with no boundaries.

After Julia's parents divorced, her mother took in male lodgers with the hope they would become her lovers. When one of... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

The Three of Us
A Family Story
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: July 22, 2008
Price: $11.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
With Billie
A New Look at the Unforgettable Lady Day
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: April 11, 2006
Price: $14.95

From Julia Blackburn, an author whose ability to conjure lives from other times and places is so vivid that one suspects she sees ghosts, here is a portrait of a woman whose voice continues to haunt anyone who hears it.
Billie Holiday’s life is inseparable from an account of her troubles, her... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

With Billie
A New Look at the Unforgettable Lady Day
Written by Julia Blackburn


Format: eBook, 368 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 10, 2012
Price: $11.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.
Page 1 of 1