Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
J.D. McClatchy
J.D. McClatchy Enlarge Photo

Photo © 2014 Stone Roberts

author spotlight

J. D. McClatchy is the author of seven previous collections of poetry and of three collections of prose. He has edited numerous other books, including The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry, and has written a number of opera libretti that have been performed at the Metropolitan Opera, Covent Garden, La Scala, and elsewhere. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, where he served as president from 2009 to 2012. McClatchy teaches at Yale University and is editor of The Yale Review.

author bookshelf
Sort: Date  Format  Price  Title

Exam Copy
Animal Poems
Doggerel; Great Cat; On Wings of Song; Poems About Horses
Edited by Carmela Ciuraru, Emily Fragos and J.D. McClatchy


Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: December 21, 2010
Price: $53.00

Read more >

Exam Copy
Selected Poems

Written by Anthony Hecht
Edited by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: March 22, 2011
Price: $21.00

Alongside Wallace Stevens, James Merrill, and other pillars of twentieth-century poetry, Anthony Hecht joins the Borzoi Poetry series.

Hecht, whose writing rings with the cadences of the King James Bible, and who, as an infantryman at the end of World War II, participated in the liberation of the concentration camps, lived and... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Selected Poems

Written by Anthony Hecht
Edited by J.D. McClatchy


Format: eBook, 288 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: March 22, 2011
Price: $15.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Christmas Poems

Edited by John Hollander and J.D. McClatchy


Format: Hardcover, 256 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: October 26, 1999
Price: $13.50

Read more >

Exam Copy
The Four Seasons
Poems
Edited by J.D. McClatchy
Introduction by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Hardcover, 256 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: June 3, 2008
Price: $14.95

For the poet, even the most minute details of the natural world are starting points for flights of the imagination, and the pages of this collection celebrating the four seasons are brimming with an extraordinary range of observation and imagery. 

Here are poets past and present, from Chaucer, Shakespeare, and Wordsworth... Read more >

Exam Copy
Hazmat

Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 96 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: April 6, 2004
Price: $15.00

HAZMAT, meaning “hazardous material,” is an abbreviation familiar from signs at the entrances to long dark tunnels or on the sides of suspicious containers. Here, in a series of stunning poems, J. D. McClatchy examines the first hazmat we all encounter: our own bodies. The virtuosic “Tattoos” meditates on why we... Read more >

Exam Copy
Mercury Dressing
Poems
Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 112 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: May 17, 2011
Price: $18.00

This beautiful collection from J. D. McClatchy holds up a mirror to the soul, considering heroic and human figures in poems that “balance mandarin wit with enormous learning, a fully twenty-first-century sensibility and a deft use of the demotic” (Bookpage).

“Powerful. . . . Given McClatchy’s formal virtuosity, I wouldn’t be surprised... Read more >

Exam Copy
Plundered Hearts
New and Selected Poems
Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Hardcover, 288 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: March 25, 2014
Price: $28.95

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Plundered Hearts
New and Selected Poems
Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: eBook, 288 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: March 25, 2014
Price: $14.99

Read more >
Also available as a hardcover.

Exam Copy
Ten Commandments

Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 120 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: December 21, 1999
Price: $15.00

Ten Commandments is a book-length sequence of poems that plot the rules we were raised on, rules we forget but can't evade. Here is the whole underworld of desire, its tasks and perversions. Here are the iron laws and the way the heart is shaped by them, even as it prefers... Read more >

Exam Copy
The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry

Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 688 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: June 25, 1996
Price: $18.00

This groundbreaking volume may well be the poetry anthology for the global village. As selected by J.D. McClatchy, this collection includes masterpieces from four continents and more than two dozen languages in translations by such distinguished poets as Elizabeth Bishop, W.S. Merwin, Ted Hughes, and Seamus Heaney. Among the countries and... Read more >

Exam Copy
The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry

Written by J.D. McClatchy


Format: Trade Paperback, 656 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: April 8, 2003
Price: $18.95

Now in its second edition, The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry has established itself in the decade since its original publication as an indispensable volume for everyone interested in poetry today, from poets and students and teachers of poetry to the ever-increasing audience for contemporary poets.

From Robert Lowell, Elizabeth Bishop... Read more >

Exam Copy
The Changing Light at Sandover

Written by James Merrill
Edited by J.D. McClatchy and Stephen Yenser


Format: Trade Paperback, 640 pages
Publisher: Knopf
On Sale: August 2, 2011
Price: $30.00

A welcome return to paperback: James Merrill’s most famous and celebrated work.

“An astonishing performance . . . As near to [a masterpiece] as anything that American poetry has produced in the last two or three decades.” —The New York Review of Books

“James Merrill has created a poem as central to our... Read more >
Page 1 of 1