Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids


E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
Thomas Mann

  • About this Author
author spotlight

Thomas Mann was born in 1875 in Germany. He was only twenty-five when his first novel, Buddenbrooks, was published. In 1924, The Magic Mountain was published, and, five years later, Mann was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. Following the rise of the Nazis to power, he left Germany for good in 1933 to live in Switzerland and then in California, where he wrote Doctor Faustus (first published in the United States in 1948). Thomas Mann died in 1955.

author bookshelf
Sort: Date  Format  Price  Title

Exam Copy
Buddenbrooks
The Decline of a Family
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Hardcover, 776 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: October 4, 1994
Price: $26.00

Read more >
Also available as an eBook and a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Buddenbrooks
The Decline of a Family
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Trade Paperback, 736 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: June 28, 1994
Price: $18.00

First published in 1900 when Mann was only twenty-five, Buddenbrooks is a minutely imagined chronicle of four generations of a North German mercantile family--a work so true to life that it scandalized the author's former neighbors in his native Lubeck. Now Mann's triumph of realism is available in its first new... Read more >
Also available as an eBook and a hardcover.

Buddenbrooks
The Decline of a Family
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: eBook, 736 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: May 25, 2011
Price: $13.99

Read more >
Also available as a hardcover and a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Confessions of Felix Krull, Confidence Man
The Early Years
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Trade Paperback, 400 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: March 31, 1992
Price: $18.95

A rich and entertaining tale in the tradition of Cervantes and Stendahl and one of the great picaresque novels of this century, Confessions of Felix Krull recounts the enchanted career of the con man extraordinaire, Felix Krull, through his childhood and early childhood. The result is a withering commentary on human... Read more >

Exam Copy
Death in Venice
And Seven Other Stories
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Trade Paperback, 416 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: March 13, 1989
Price: $12.00

In addition to "Death in Venice," this volume also includes "Mario and the Magician," "Disorder and Early Sorrow," "A Man and His Dog," "Felix Krull," "The Blood of the Waslungs," "Tristan," and "Tonio Kroger." These stories, as direct as Mann's novels are complex, are perfect illustrations of their author's belief that... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Death in Venice and Other Stories

Written by Thomas Mann


Format: eBook
Publisher: Bantam Classics
On Sale: October 28, 2008
Price: $1.99

Read more >
Also available as a paperback.

Exam Copy
Death in Venice and Other Stories

Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Paperback, 416 pages
Publisher: Bantam Classics
On Sale: September 1, 1988
Price: $5.95

This superb new translation of "Death in Venice" and six other stories by Thomas Mann is a tour de force, surely one of the definitive texts for English-speaking readers. The seven stories in this collection represent the early part of Mann's literary career, beginning with work he produced in 1896 at... Read more >
Also available as an eBook.

Death in Venice
And Seven Other Stories
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: eBook, 416 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: November 3, 2010
Price: $7.99

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Doctor Faustus
The Life of the German Composer Adrian Leverkuhn as Told by a Friend
Written by Thomas Mann
Translated by John E. Woods


Format: Trade Paperback, 544 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: July 27, 1999
Price: $16.95

"John E. Woods is revising our impression of Thomas Mann, masterpiece by masterpiece."
--The New Yorker"Doctor Faustus is Mann's deepest artistic gesture. . . . Finely translated by John E. Woods."
--The New RepublicThomas Mann's last great novel, first published in 1947 and now rendered into English by acclaimed translator John E. Woods... Read more >
Also available as a hardcover.

Exam Copy
Doctor Faustus

Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Hardcover, 580 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: June 2, 1992
Price: $24.00

Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
Joseph and His Brothers

Written by Thomas Mann
Translated by John E. Woods


Format: Hardcover, 1536 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: May 10, 2005
Price: $42.00

Thomas Mann regarded his monumental retelling of the biblical story of Joseph as his magnum opus. He conceived of the four part—The Stories of Jacob, The Young Joseph, Joseph in Egypt, and Joseph the Provider—as a unified narrative, a "mythological novel" of Joseph's fall into slavery and his rise to be... Read more >

Exam Copy
The Magic Mountain

Written by Thomas Mann
Translated by John E. Woods


Format: Hardcover, 904 pages
Publisher: Everyman's Library
On Sale: June 21, 2005
Price: $30.00

With this dizzyingly rich novel of ideas, Thomas Mann rose to the front ranks of the great modern novelists, ultimately winning the Nobel Prize in 1929. In The Magic Mountain, Mann uses a sanatorium in the Swiss Alps—a community devoted exclusively to sickness—as a microcosm for Europe, which in the years... Read more >
Also available as a trade paperback.

Exam Copy
The Magic Mountain

Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Trade Paperback, 720 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 1, 1996
Price: $19.00

Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1929, Mann uses a sanatorium in the Swiss Alps as a microcosm for Europe, which in the years before 1914 was already exhibiting the first symptoms of its own terminal irrationality. Newly rendered into English by acclaimed translator John Woods, The Magic Mountain... Read more >
Also available as a hardcover.

Royal Highness

Written by Thomas Mann


Format: eBook, 320 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: October 16, 2013
Price: $5.99

"The great virtue of Royal Highness is its relaxed, fairy-tale quality that naturally brings the reader inside that 'Edwardian' calm which preceded everything common to contemporary social life. It is very easy to make connections between the book and theories of stratification, statemaking, ritual, legitimacy, even the political economy of preindustrialized... Read more >

Exam Copy
The Transposed Heads
A Legend of India
Written by Thomas Mann


Format: Paperback, 128 pages
Publisher: Vintage
On Sale: September 12, 1959
Price: $11.20

The Transposed Heads is altogether delightful...It is certainly the most charming of Mann's works...in short, a restatement in parable form of Mann's intransigent faith in the human intellect. It is also a rich and subtle analysis of the psychology of friendship and love."--Sewanee Review Read more >
Page 1 of 1