Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
Vintage Classics
Word and Film
Pantheon Graphic Novels
Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Half the Sky

WWI Centennial
Latest News

2014 Man Booker Winner: Richard Flanagan's A Narrow Road to the Deep North

Toms River

Please join us in congratulating Australian author Richard Flanagan, who has won the £50,000 Man Booker Prize for his wartime novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. "The two great themes from the origin of literature are love and war: this is a magnificent novel of love and war," said AC Grayling, chair of the judging panel. "Written in prose of extraordinary elegance and force, it bridges East and West, past and present, with a story of guilt and heroism." The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language. It has long been Britain's most famous literary award, and is considered one of the most prestigious in the world.

Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven a National Book Award Finalist

Toms River

Congratulations to Knopf author, Emily St. John Mandel, who has been selected as a finalist for the National Book Award in Fiction for her novel, Station Eleven. The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. The winner in each category—Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature—will be announced at a Nov. 19 ceremony in New York City.

2014 PEN Literary Award Winners

Toms River

The PEN American Center has announced the winners of the 2014 PEN Literary Awards. Please join us in congratulating the following Random House authors: Journalist and cultural critic James Wolcott won the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($10,000) for Critical Mass (Doubleday); Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru won the PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000) for League of Denial (Three Rivers Press); author Yannis Ritsos and translators Karen Emmerich and Edmund Keeley won the PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000) for Diaries of Exile (Archipelago); author Sigizmund Krzhizhanovsky and translators Joanne Turnbull and Nikolai Formozov won the PEN Translation Prize ($3,000) for Autobiography of a Corpse (NYRB Classics). The award winners will be honored at the 2014 PEN Literary Awards Ceremony on Monday, September 29, 2014 at The New School's Auditorium in New York City.

Salman Rushdie Awarded 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize

John Hollander

Salman Rushdie, acclaimed author of many books including Midnight's Children, The Satanic Verses, and Shalimar the Clown, has been awarded the 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize. This prize, established in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter, was given to Rushdie to honor his private acts of kindness and unrelenting fight for freedom of expression. Rushdie will accept his award at the British Library in London on October 9th, 2014.

Maya Angelou Passes Away at 86


Maya Angelou passed away on Wednesday, May 28th at her home in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. She was 86 years old. An award-winning poet, writer, performer, teacher, and director, Dr. Angelou was raised in Stamps, Arkansas, and then moved to San Francisco. Her first book, the groundbreaking autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, was published in 1969 to critical acclaim and has become a core text in middle school, high school and college reading lists across the country. Dr. Angelou went on to write thirty-five more books, including volumes of poetry, essay collections, children's books, cookbooks, and six further memoirs. Click here to read her full obituary in The New York Times.

In Brief
Congratulations to the following Random House authors, who have been shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction: Richard Flanagan, author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North; Ali Smith, author of How to be Both (to be published in the U.S. on December 2nd); and Howard Jacobson, author of J. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, October 14th.
The University of Edinburgh has announced the winners of the 2014 James Tait Black Prizes. Please join us in congratulating Prof Dame Hermione Lee, who won the biography prize for Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life, and Jim Crace, who won this year's fiction prize for his novel Harvest. Established in 1919, The James Tait Black Prizes are Britain's oldest literary awards.
British author Evie Wyld has won this year's Miles Franklin literary award for her novel All the Birds, Singing. The Miles Franklin award, which is awarded annually to a novel that best presents Australian life, is Australia's highest literary honor. Wyld's win was announced shortly after she received both the Encore award and Jerwood Fiction Uncovered prize.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: