Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
Vintage Classics
Word and Film
Pantheon Graphic Novels
Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Half the Sky

WWI Centennial
Latest News

2014 PEN Literary Award Winners

Toms River

The PEN American Center has announced the winners of the 2014 PEN Literary Awards. Please join us in congratulating the following Random House authors: Journalist and cultural critic James Wolcott won the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($10,000) for Critical Mass (Doubleday); Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru won the PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000) for League of Denial (Three Rivers Press); author Yannis Ritsos and translators Karen Emmerich and Edmund Keeley won the PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000) for Diaries of Exile (Archipelago); author Sigizmund Krzhizhanovsky and translators Joanne Turnbull and Nikolai Formozov won the PEN Translation Prize ($3,000) for Autobiography of a Corpse (NYRB Classics). The award winners will be honored at the 2014 PEN Literary Awards Ceremony on Monday, September 29, 2014 at The New School's Auditorium in New York City.

Salman Rushdie Awarded 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize

John Hollander

Salman Rushdie, acclaimed author of many books including Midnight's Children, The Satanic Verses, and Shalimar the Clown, has been awarded the 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize. This prize, established in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter, was given to Rushdie to honor his private acts of kindness and unrelenting fight for freedom of expression. Rushdie will accept his award at the British Library in London on October 9th, 2014.

Maya Angelou Passes Away at 86


Maya Angelou passed away on Wednesday, May 28th at her home in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. She was 86 years old. An award-winning poet, writer, performer, teacher, and director, Dr. Angelou was raised in Stamps, Arkansas, and then moved to San Francisco. Her first book, the groundbreaking autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, was published in 1969 to critical acclaim and has become a core text in middle school, high school and college reading lists across the country. Dr. Angelou went on to write thirty-five more books, including volumes of poetry, essay collections, children's books, cookbooks, and six further memoirs. Click here to read her full obituary in The New York Times.

Gabriel García Márquez Passes Away at 87


Nobel Laureate and renowned author Gabriel García Márquez passed away this week at the age of 87 at his home in Mexico City. The foremost master of magical realism, he gained worldwide fame for classics like One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, and his novels have been translated into dozens of languages and sold tens of millions of copies. Click here to read his full obituary in The New York Times and click here to read a tribute from Edwidge Danticat in The New Yorker.

Toms River Wins Pulitzer Prize

Toms River

Random House LLC is proud to announce that Dan Fagin's Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation (Bantam), an astonishing work of investigative reporting about a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, has been awarded the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in the General Nonfiction category. In the book, Fagin recounts the sixty-year saga of rampant pollution and inadequate oversight that made Toms River, New Jersey, a cautionary example for fast-growing industrial towns. Named one of the best books of the year by NPR and Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times called the book "a new classic of science reporting . . . a sober story of probability and compromise, laid out with the care and precision that characterizes both good science and great journalism."

Gary J. Bass's Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide (Knopf) was a finalist in the General Nonfiction category (Paperback Available July 2014). For a full list of previous Random House Pulitzer Prize winners please click here.

In Brief
Congratulations to the following Random House authors, who have been shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction: Richard Flanagan, author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North; Ali Smith, author of How to be Both (to be published in the U.S. on December 2nd); and Howard Jacobson, author of J. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, October 14th.
The University of Edinburgh has announced the winners of the 2014 James Tait Black Prizes. Please join us in congratulating Prof Dame Hermione Lee, who won the biography prize for Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life, and Jim Crace, who won this year's fiction prize for his novel Harvest. Established in 1919, The James Tait Black Prizes are Britain's oldest literary awards.
British author Evie Wyld has won this year's Miles Franklin literary award for her novel All the Birds, Singing. The Miles Franklin award, which is awarded annually to a novel that best presents Australian life, is Australia's highest literary honor. Wyld's win was announced shortly after she received both the Encore award and Jerwood Fiction Uncovered prize.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: