Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
April 2014
Latest News

Gabriel García Márquez Passes Away at 87


Nobel Laureate and renowned author Gabriel García Márquez passed away this week at the age of 87 at his home in Mexico City. The foremost master of magical realism, he gained worldwide fame for classics like One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, and his novels have been translated into dozens of languages and sold tens of millions of copies. Click here to read his full obituary in The New York Times and click here to read a tribute from Edwidge Danticat in The New Yorker.

Toms River Wins Pulitzer Prize

Toms River

Random House LLC is proud to announce that Dan Fagin's Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation (Bantam), an astonishing work of investigative reporting about a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, has been awarded the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in the General Nonfiction category. In the book, Fagin recounts the sixty-year saga of rampant pollution and inadequate oversight that made Toms River, New Jersey, a cautionary example for fast-growing industrial towns. Named one of the best books of the year by NPR and Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times called the book "a new classic of science reporting . . . a sober story of probability and compromise, laid out with the care and precision that characterizes both good science and great journalism."

Gary J. Bass's Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide (Knopf) was a finalist in the General Nonfiction category (Paperback Available July 2014). For a full list of previous Random House Pulitzer Prize winners please click here.

ALA Carnegie Medal Shortlist Announced

Carnegie Medal

The American Library Association has announced the shortlists for their 2014 Carnegie Medals in Fiction & Nonfiction. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah (Knopf) and Edwidge Danticat's Claire of the Sea Light (Knopf) were shortlisted for fiction while Nicholas Basbanes's On Paper: The Everything of Its Two-Thousand-Year History (Knopf) and Sheri Fink's Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital (Crown) were shortlisted in the nonfiction category. Established in 2012, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction "recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year." The winners will be announced at the ALA annual conference and will receive a $5,000 prize.

Gettysburg Wins Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize


Allen Guelzo has been awarded the Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History for his extraordinary new history Gettysburg. The prize, which was "founded last year to bolster the status of military history and is to be awarded annually," comes with a $50,000 award and was celebrated on March 17th at a ceremony in New York City.

Windham Campbell Prize Winners Announced


The 2014 Windham Campbell Prizes have been announced: Nadeem Aslam (The Blind Man's Garden) and Jim Crace (Harvest) have won for fiction; Pankaj Mishra (The Romantics) and John Vaillant (The Tiger) have won for nonfiction. Each winner will receive $150,000 and will be honored at a ceremony in September at Yale University.

In Brief
Pulitzer Prize winner Philip Roth has been chosen by the Yaddo artist's colony in Saratoga Springs, New York as the winner of their inaugural Yaddo Medal. Roth will receive the medal at an benefit on Wednesday, May 14, 2014 at the Edison Ballroom in New York City.
Sherwin B. Nuland, author of The Art of Aging and the National Book Award–winning How We Die has passed away at the age of 83. Click here to read the full New York Times obituary.
The American Academy of Arts & Letters Awards has announced their 2014 Literature Award Winners. Yiyun Li, author of Kinder Than Solitude won the Benjamin H. Danks Award ($20,000), Alexander Stille, author of Excellent Cadavers won the Blake Dodd Prize ($25,000), and Brenda Wineapple, author of White Heat was one of the eight recipients of the Arts and Letters Award in Literature which comes with a prize of $7500 for each winner.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: