Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
January 2013
Latest News

2012 National Jewish Book Awards

National Jewish Book Award

The 2012 National Jewish Book Award winners were announced this week by the Jewish Book Council. Four Random House authors were recognized: Jonathan D. Sarna's When General Grant Expelled the Jews was a finalist for the American Jewish Studies category; Joshua Henkin's The World Without You was a finalist for the Fiction category; Matthew Brzezinski's Isaac's Army was a finalist for the Holocaust category; Rabbi Jonathan Sacks' The Great Partnership was a finalist for the Modern Jewish Thought and Experience category.

Pamuk Shortlisted for 2012 Man Asian Prize

Silent House

Orhan Pamuk has been shortlisted for the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize for his novel The Silent House. Founded in 2007, the Man Asian Literary Prize is awarded annually "to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English." The winner, who will receive $30,000, will be announced on March 14th 2013 at a ceremony in Hong Kong and the translator, if any, will receive $5,000.

Richard Ben Cramer Passes Away at 62

Richard Ben Cramer

Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter Richard Ben Cramer died recently in Baltimore, Maryland at the age of 62 from complications of lung cancer. "[W]idely hailed as among the finest books about American politics ever written," Cramer's classic What It Takes is a recounting of the frenzied 1988 U.S. Presidential race that scours the psyches of the contenders and penetrates the mystery at the heart of all presidential campaigns. His full New York Times obituary can be read here.

Stephen Platt Awarded the 2012 Cundill Prize in History from McGill

Autumn in the Heavenly Kingdom

Stephen Platt has won the 2012 Cundill Prize in History for Autumn in the Heavenly Kingdom. Administered each year by McGill University, the Cundill Prize is the largest international prize for a work on history and comes with a $75,000 award. Andrew Preston's Sword of the Spirit, Shield of Faith was a finalist for the award and was awarded a prize of $10,000.

In Brief
Gerda Lerner, feminist scholar, historian, and author of Black Women in White America, passed away last week at the age of 92 in Madison, Wisconsin. Her full New York Times obituary can be read here.
Colson Whitehead's Zone One was a finalist for the 2012 Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation Fiction Award. Created in 1990, "the mission of the foundation is to discover and encourage writers of African descent and to ensure the survival of literature by black writers."
Wade Davis's Into the Silence has won the Samuel Johnson Prize. The United Kingdom's "premier prize for non-fiction books," The Samuel Johnson Prize "aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of all non-fiction books in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts" and comes with a £20,000 award. Katherine Boo's Behind the Beautiful Forevers was shortlisted for the award.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: