Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
March 2012
Latest News

The Buddha in the Attic Wins 2012 PEN/ Faulkner Award for Fiction

Buddha in the Attic

Please join us in congratulating Julie Otsuka for her selection as the 2012 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction winner. Otsuka's The Buddha in the Attic was chosen from among 350 works published in the United States last year and she will be honored at an award ceremony held on May 5th, 2012 at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. Please click here for a list of our previous PEN/Faulkner Award winners.

Stephen Millhauser Awarded the Story Prize

We Others

Stephen Millhauser is the latest recipient of the Story Prize which "honors the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction" annually. Millhauser's We Others beat out collections from Don DeLillo and Edith Pearlman to win the prize which comes with a $20,000 award. Past Story Prize–award winners include Edwidge Danticat, Jim Shepard, Mary Gordon, and Tobias Wolff.

Kyung-Sook Shin Awarded Man Asian Literary Prize

Please Look After Mom

Kyung-Sook Shin, author of Please Look After Mom, has been awarded the Man Asian Literary Prize receiving $30,000 (translator Chi-Young Kim also received $5,000). Founded in 2007, the Man Asian Literary Prize is awarded annually "to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English."

Liberty's Exiles Wins National Book Critics Circle Award

Anatomy of Injustice

Maya Jasanoff was awarded the National Book Critics Circle Award for General Nonfiction last night for her exceptional book Liberty's Exiles. Jasanoff's groundbreaking book offers the first global history of the loyalist exodus to Canada, the Caribbean, Sierra Leone, India, and beyond. Please click here for a full list of our past NBCC winners.

Teju Cole Wins the 2012 PEN/ Hemingway Award for First Fiction

Anatomy of Injustice

Teju Cole, author of Open City (Random House), has won the 2012 PEN/ Hemingway Award for First Fiction. Given annually to an American author who has not previously published a book of fiction, the award is one of the premier awards for debut novelists. Patrick Hemingway, the son of Nobel Prize–winning writer Ernest Hemingway, will present the $8,000 award to Cole on Sunday, April 1, at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston, Massachusetts.

In Brief
Peter Carey, Teju Cole, David Mitchell, and Julie Otsuka have all won 2012 Literature Awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Peter Carey (Parrot and Olivier in America) was given the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award ($10,000); Teju Cole was given the Rosenthal Family Foundation Award ($10,000) for his novel Open City; David Mitchell (The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet) was given the E.M. Forster Award ($20,000); and Julie Otsuka (The Buddha in the Attic) was one of eight recipients of an Arts and Letters Award in Literature ($7,500).
This weekend C-SPAN will air a talk that Louis Hyman, author of Borrow, gave at Cooper Union last month and you can listen to an hour-long interview from NPR affiliate WSKJ that aired on Tuesday, March 6th.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: