Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
March 2011
Latest News

Danielle L. McGuire and Bettye Collier-Thomas Honored at the 2011 OAH Conference

At the Dark End of the Street

At the 2011 Organization of American Historians annual meeting Danielle L. McGuire's At the Dark End of the Street was given the Frederick Jackson Turner Award which is presented each year to one author in recognition of their first book on some significant phase of American history. Bettye Collier-Thomas's Jesus, Jobs, and Justice received the Darlene Clark Hine Award which is given each year for the best book in African American women's and gender history.

Jennifer Egan, Isabel Wilkerson, Darin Strauss, and Sarah Bakewell Win NBCC Awards

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Two Random House authors were honored at the National Book Critics Choice Awards last night in New York City. Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Good Squad was awarded the prize for fiction and Isabel Wilkerson's The Warmth of Other Suns for nonfiction. Also honored for best autobiography was Darin Strauss's Half a Life (paperback forthcoming from Random House in May), and for best biography was Sarah Bakewell's How to Live published by Other Press (distributed by Random House).

The National Book Critics Circle awards honor the best literature published in English in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Click here for a list of our previous NBCC Award winners.

Five Random House Authors Named Winners of the National Humanities Medal for 2010

The Invisible Bridge

Five of the ten winners of the National Humanities Medal for 2010 are Random House authors. Bernard Bailyn, Wendell E. Berry, Arnold Rampersad, Philip Roth, and Gordon S. Wood were all named medal recipients by President Barack Obama for their achievements and work in the humanities.

First awarded in 1997, National Humanities Medal "honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened our citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities."

Timothy Black's When a Heart Turns Rock Solid Given the 2011 Mirra Komarovsky Award

The Invisible Bridge

The Eastern Sociological Society presented Timothy Black, author of When a Heart Turns Rock Solid with the 2011 Mirra Komarovsky Award at their recent annual meeting held in Philadelphia, PA. This award honors the memory of Mirra Komarovsky (1905-1999), a pioneer in the sociology of gender, and is awarded to the best sociology studies title each calendar year.

When a Heart Turns Rock Solid had previously been awarded the Association for Humanist Sociology Award, was an Honorable Mention for the Puerto Rican Studies Association Book Award, and was selected as a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post.

In Brief
In memoriam: Joe Bageant, journalist and author of Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War and Rainbow Pie: A Redneck Memoir, has died at the age of 64. Author David Sirota (Hostile Takeover) praised Deer Hunting with Jesus upon its publication, saying "Bageant has given us a glimpse into the vicious class war that is too often ignored."
The Academy of Arts and Letters has recognized the work of several Random House authors. Karen Russell was awarded the Benjamin H. Danks Award for a talented young writer ($20,000), Rachel Seiffert the E. M. Forster Award for a young UK writer for a stay in the US ($20,000), Thomas Mallon the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award for a writer whose work merits recognition for the quality of its prose style ($10,000), Monique Truong the Rosenthal Family Foundation Award for a young writer of considerable literary talent for a work published in 2010 ($10,000), and Colum McCann was one of eight recipients of the Arts and Letters Award in Literature given annually to honor exceptional accomplishment in any genre ($7,500).
This April, the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center will award Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn the inaugural Stowe Prize for their book Half the Sky. The prize, created in honor of Harriet Beecher Stowe and her anti-slavery novel Uncle Tom's Cabin, comes with a $10,000 award and recognizes a United States author whose written work makes a tangible impact on a social justice issue critical to contemporary society.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: